Recent posts

Saib. – Sailing
Jan 19, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 03 2015 | 03:31
Image: 1594977 The Stark Reality’s legendary album, ...Discovers Hoagy Carmichael’s Music Shop , is a funky, jazzy, fuzz-toned cult classic, consists of very original interpretations of a children’s album written by Hoagy Carmichael and was originally released on Ahmad Jamal’s boutique label, AJP
For years, the album made the rounds in underground hip-hop circles (being sampled along the way by the likes of Large Professor, J-Live, Madlib, and Black Eyed Peas), trading hands for ridiculous sums on the second-hand market -- even after it saw a reissue on Now Again as
part of the Acting, Thinking, Feeling 6xLP boxset which gathered other recently discovered, previously unreleased material from the band’s career. Now,

...Discovers Hoagy Carmichael’s Music Shop is available on vinyl for the very first time since its initial 1970 release in a deluxe 3-LP release including 56 page booklet with never before seen photos, extensive liner notes by Egon of Now Again Records with commentary by AJP founder Ahmad Jamal and annotation and an interview with Monty Stark, the band’s frontman.
“The music of the Stark Reality is as playful as it is wild... as fantastic as it is frazzled.” - Rolling Stone
“One of the most prized ‘funk’ artifacts of all time, Stark’s project allies Hendrix-stoned guitars, heavily-fuzzed vibraphone and Bitches Brew rhythms...” - Mojo Magazine

Key Selling Points

- First-ever stand-alone reissue of one of the most sought-after funk albums of all time, the Stark Reality’s legendary ...Discovers Hoagy Carmichael’s Music Shop.
- Extensive praise from Rolling Stone, Mojo Magazine, and AllMusic among numerous other press outlets.
- Restored and remastered from the original tapes.
- Includes 56 page booklet including extensive liner notes, an interview with Monty Stark and photos.
- Includes download card.

A1. Junkman’s Song
A2. Thirty Days Hath September
A3. Cooking
B1. Dreams
B2. Grandfather Clock
C1. Shooting Stars
C2. Rocket Ship
C3. Bustin’ Out Of Doors
D1. Comrades
D2. All You Need To Make Music
E1. Merry Go Round
E2. The Whale
E3. The Old Prospector
E4. Traveling
F1. Clouds
F2. Swing High
F3. Blue Pillow Available from 05.06.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung