Recent posts

Chuuwee – Paradiso
Jan 22, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 03 2015 | 03:31
Image: 1594507 Sola Rosa is back with their sixth album Magnetics.

A1. Inspired featuring Noah Slee
A2. Can We Get It Together featuring Noah Slee
A3. Get Your Move Gone featuring Sharlene Hector
A4. Right On Time featuring Tawiah
A5. Roots And Culture featuring Kevin Mark Trail

B1. Til The Sun feat. Jordan Rakei
B2. Young The Giant featuring Noah Slee, Melowdownz & Bailey Wiley
B3. Both Of Us featuring Kevin Mark Trail
B4. Too Long In The Sun featuring Oliver Daysoul
B5. Never Too Far featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow

VIDEO - SOLA ROSA „Both Of Us“ feat. Kevin Mark Trail:

Sola Rosa’s Magnetics was chosen for “iTunes Best of 2014” R&B album and entered the album
charts on #10 !
Sola Rosa’s sixth album Magnetics sees the band introduce a glorious assortment of fresh new
vocalists from all over the globe. Noah Slee (NZ) released his ‘Mix Tape’ EP in 2013 to critical
acclaim and has toured with many artists including renowned neo-soul artist Jill Scott, young upandcoming
singer/songwriter and Soundcloud phenomenon Jordan Rakei (AUS), BRIT School
graduate Tawiah (UK) was first introduced to Spraggon via the attention of Gilles Peterson, who
championed her song ‘Watch Out’ in 2007 and also named her the winner of his Worldwide
Award for Best Newcomer the following year, Kevin Mark Trail (UK) features on three tracks after
being recommended in the aftermath of an exceptional performance in the UK, Stones Throw
Records’ singer and beatmaker Georgia Anne Muldrow (US) has been on Spraggon’s wish list
ever since he heard collaborations with the likes of Eric Lau, Madlib and Sa-R, PPP and Erykah
Badu, and long time best friend of both Trail and Mathieson Sharlene Hector (UK) has worked
with too many artists to mention and currently sings with Basement Jaxx.
“Sola Rosa’s Magnetics is solid – a great album to have on repeat at the backyard this summer.” -
Rachel Bache, NZ Herald
Sola Rosa continue to experiment and evolve, which is a true testament to their success over the
years. From his humble beginnings experimenting with a 4-track recorder at the ripe age of 19,
Sola Rosa frontman Andrew Spraggon has cultivated over 15 years of rich and well-crafted
melodic beats. Fusing a rotating mix of hip-hop, jazz, reggae, latin, neo-soul and funk topped with
an assortment of diverse vocalists, Sola Rosa have released five critically acclaimed long
players to date.
The latest construct of this collective sees this five-piece strip away their collaborations with an
array of session musicians, choosing instead to record together as a complete band, which has
allowed them to enjoy a more simple and methodical creative process.
The album was mixed in Queenstown by Josh Thorne aka DJ Alias. Analog mastering was once
again undertaken by Ricardo Gutierrez in NYC . Some of his credits include Madonna, Just Blaze,
Drake, The Rolling Stones and John Legend.
Currently Sola Rosa is made up of five key individuals. Matt Short joined Sola Rosa in 2004 as an
incredibly accomplished session player, who has previously played with the Opensouls, Tyra &
The Tornadoes and Vietnam War. Ben White an accomplished jazz guitarist followed suit in 2007.
Vocalist, producer and MAINZ teacher Cherie Mathieson joined the band in late 2011 as their
touring female vocalist. Mathieson has collaborated with celebrated producers and artists like
Mark de Clive Lowe, Dego (4hero), Lanu (The Bamboos), Zed Bias and closer to home with The
Relaxomatic Project, Solaa, Manuel Bundy, Jason Eli ( Joosika) and Lewis McCallum.
The latest addition is British artist and The Streets co-vocalist Kevin Mar Trail. Trail has
collaborated with local jazz wizard Nathan Haines, international heavyweights Nitin Sawhney,
Estelle and Black Twang and landed support slots for N.E.R.D, Massive Attack and Angie Stone.
Keyboard player, percussion, computer whiz, and all-round beat maestro Andrew Spraggon
began performing and touring for the first time in his early 20s, as the lead vocalist and guitarist of
indie rock band Cicada. Six years later, in 1998, Spraggon made the leap from 4-track to software
and never looked back. He initially performed solo, but quickly recruited a revolving door of Sola
Rosa collaborative incarnations and a band of talented session players that included players from
Fat Freddy’s Drop, Opensouls and Ladi6. Spraggon was also a member of Dimmer from 2000
– 2004. Most recently he has produced local acts including Batucada Sound Machine and Tahuna
Over the years Sola Rosa have enjoyed many achievements in New Zealand, including a #1 on
iTunes and the Independent NZ Music Chart with their 2009 smash record ‘Get It Together’. It
reached #15 in the album charts and went on to achieve Gold status. The awards in Sola Rosa’s
cabinet include Best Independent Release in the 2000 bNet Music Awards for the ‘Entrance To
Skyway’ (EP) and Best Electronica Album in 2001 for ‘Solarized’. They also received nominations
at the Vodafone NZ Music Awards for Best Dance/Electronica Album in 2006 for ‘Moves On’,
Best Producer and Best Dance/Electronic Album in 2009 for ‘Get It Together’ and Best Electronic
Album in 2012 for ‘Low and Behold, High and Beyond’.
Available from 15.05.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung