Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Apr 03 2015 | 03:31
Image: 1595930 A career spent DJing across the globe was the catalyst for Damian Lazarus’s latest project – Damian
Lazarus & The Ancient Moons. Masterminded by Lazarus the album brings together a wide assortment of
vocalists, collaborators and players from around the world. Taking inspiration from Lazarus's Lazpod series,
Get Lost events and Day Zero festival in Mexico, this is music for deserts, jungles and sunrises.
Kicking off in LA, Lazarus was joined at the production controls by James Ford (Simian Mobile Disco, Arctic
Monkeys, Florence) as the album moved to London, and then final recording sessions completed in Mexico.
The resulting album, ‘Message From the Other Side’, is a revelation. It runs the gamut from the wonderful
Qawwali-flavoured techno of last year’s alternative dance hit ‘Lovers Eyes (Mohe Pi Ki Najariya)’ to the
African-tinged house of ‘Sacred Dance of the Demon’, dense dark ambient of ‘Inner Core’, and the bubbling
depths of forthcoming single Vermillion, this is a rich and ambitious album.
Other collaborations came from further afield. Hossam Ramzy, an Egyptian master- percussionist, most
famous for his work on Jimmy Page and Robert Plant’s ‘No Quarter’ album laid down the amazing rhythm
tracks for the Ancient Moons. ELEW (Eric Lewis), an American jazz pianist played a ‘treated piano’ in an
unexpected, experimental way. Lazarus and Ford turned to Andrew Waterworth, double bassist with the
acclaimed Penguin Café for the album’s lush string arrangements courtesy of Mexico’s Yucatan Symphony
Meanwhile, Fareed Ayaz, Abu Muhammad and Hamza Akram, are Pakistan’s leading exponents of Qawwali
singing, the hypnotic sacred Sufi music that Lazarus fell in love with after hearing it on the soundtrack of
political thriller ‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’. They appear not only on ‘Lovers Eyes (Mohe Pi Ki Najariya)’,
but also the spaced out, sitar-laden ‘Amber Palace’, a piece that features the sitar work of Sidartha Siliceo, a
former student of Ravi Shankar. By gathering this gumbo of music from across the globe Lazarus has created
a collection that’s as happy on the dancefloor as off, a set of songs and moods that work both as an album
and, when cherry-picked, as a groove that would move from Ibiza to San Francisco to the UK festival circuit.
It’s also a body of work, which will be coming to life and touring when they hit the road in 2015.

1. House Of The Hidden Places
2. Adventures Of The Ancient Moons
3. Vermillion
4. Amber Palace
5. Lovers’ Eyes (Mohe Pi Ki Najriya)
6. Inner Core
7. Message From The Other Side
8. Trouble At The Seance (Edit)
9. We Will Return
10. Sacred Dance Of The Demon
11. Eyes Won’t Let Me Hide
12. Create The Age
13. Tangled Web
14. Vermillion (Reprise)

• Extensive PR campaign by Infamous in the US, Freeman in the UK, HIM Media in France and Braun
PR in Germany. Press features expected and covers expected on in key dance & music magazines
and websites.
• Album produced by James Ford (Florence , Mumford and Sons and Artic Monkeys producer) &
Damian Lazarus in Los Angeles, London and Mexico
• First European Live show set for IMS Ibiza for 21st May, more live dates for this summer to follow
• Extensive social media campaign by industry heavyweights K7 & NGE Digital
• Worldwide Radio. UK Radio Campaign by Leo Greenslade.
• Viral short films to promote the album currently being filmed, seeding campaign begining shortly.
• All gig and flyers tagged. Crosstown based shows planned in support of the album
• E-Flyers and mailouts to Damian Lazarus, Crosstown Rebels & Simian Mobile Disco databases
• ‘Vermillion’ single is released in April 2015 accompanied with Jamie Jones, Agoria & Deniz Kurtel
remixes. Extensive Radio / Press / Online Campaign around the single.
• Strategically focused on line and banner ads with Resident Advisor, FACT, Pitchfork, RA, etc .
Sponsored press ads in all high impact areas.
• Ancient Moons movie / video to promote the album
• Competitions and giveaways around the release of the album. / Available from 15.05.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung