Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Mar 20 2015 | 03:32
Image: 1594717 Busy as ever BBE are gearing up for the release of Sincerity the new album from GhostChant.

The music of GhostChant is, appropriately, haunted by traces of musical
spirits that Joe Cornwell (the young man behind the moniker) must’ve
registered subliminally… some listeners will hear echoes of ‘intelligent’
drum‘n’bass, and artists as diverse as Everything But The Girl, Boards of
Canada and The Wu-Tang Clan in the emotional atmospherics created by
this remarkable new talent… others have already him as part of the ‘future
garage’ movement, and Joe himself will namecheck the likes of Burial,
Bonobo and even MJ Cole as influences on his music. None of which quite
prepares you for the depth and quality of Sincerity, his debut album.
Originally from London, Joe now hails from Liverpool, where he was until
fairly recently a university student studying music –though Joe puts
‘studying’ in inverted commas: ‘I didn’t really attend many lectures. I just
spent all my time writing my own music.’ If Sincerity is the result, Joe’s
academic loss is our gain.
Not until recently associated with underground music, Liverpool now has a
thriving scene spanning the worlds of rock and dance. Cornwell made a big
splash at the city’s recent Sound City festival event, and speaks highly of
the creative buzz that now emanates through the city’s more left-field
venues. As well as Sound City, he’s played as far afield as Hong Kong,
where he opened (in a live set) for fellow maverick Kieron Hebdon’s
FourTet at the island’s Clockenflap Festival. He also played the BBC’s
Introducing… stage at this year’s Bestival.
It’s an intense, somewhat dark journey from one end of the album to the
other, but we’re betting that just like us, you’ll be heading straight back to
the beginning as soon as you’ve reached the end.
We’re expecting big things from this album and probably even bigger to
come from GhostChant… don’t sleep on it!

1. Intro
2. Sincerity
3. Feel Nothing
4. Laid To Rest
5. Oceans Between feat. Fifi Rong
6. 4th City feat. ChaCha + Chimpo
7. Habituary feat. spaceghostpurrp
8. Sirens Song feat. Sophia Ben-
9. Stay Gold feat. Ragz
10. Reasons feat. Anthony
11. In Secret
12. Nights Like These feat. Sarah
13. Enigmatic
14. Coming Home Available from 01.05.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung