Recent posts

Saib. – Sailing
Jan 19, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Feb 19 2015 | 06:25
Image: 1595479 One year has passed since the last release in this series and, as always, the Tramp Records crew have been working hard during the last 12 months to come up with an equally fine selection of tunes for this brand new volume. Our aim is to keep up with the quality of each release, a task which certainly does not get any easier as we step forward into the twenty first century.

There is no need to praise this selection of tracks. It is larger-than-life. And those who do not recognize the distinctiveness of it should better seek medical advice. The most astounding fact is certainly that 99% of the record buying public have never heard any of these tunes, most likely not even the artists. And we are not talking of people who solely listen to mainstream music. No. Even music lovers who believe that they have a good portion of knowledge when it comes to jazz and soul music will be left speechless.

You can skip to any song on this album and you won't be disappointed. The only premise is that you are a fan of raw, earthy soul and jazz music. If this is the case then you can't go wrong. Rene Bailey, Matilda Haywood, Lee Mitchell, Nu Art Quartet, to name a few. It is high time to introduce all these names to a broad audience and to prevent that they vanish into thin air. The Movements series was coined to introduce music lovers to so far unheard musical treasures. Tunes which only hardcore record collectors have had the privilege to enjoy it...until now.

Key selling points:
- 16-page CD-booklet and deluxe double-gatefold LP with detailed liner notes, label scans and unseen photographs
- all songs appear on a full-length album for the very first time

01. Dorothy Ramsey - He's A Real Gone Guy (Nellie Lutcher)
02. Johnny B & The Music Makers - Unchain My Heart (Bobby Sharp)
03. Bobby Wade - They Call It Stormy Monday (T Bone Walker)
04. Rene Bailey - Woke Up This Morning (Rene Bailey)
05. Howard A. Smith – Sugar (Howard Smith)
06. Nu Art Quartet - California Dreaming (John Phillips)
07. Johnny Walker Trio - The Purple Jellybean (Johnny Walker)
08. Bob Brown Quartet - Dell's Bell's (Bob Brown)
09. Bob Hines Trio – Dasheka (Bob Hines)
10. Steve Mason Trio - The Nitty Gritty Humbug (Steve Mason)
11. Al Jarreau & Trio - Take Five (Paul Desmond)
12. Matilda Haywood - Can You Handle It? (Matilda Haywood)
13. George Smith - Out Of This World (Harold Arlen)
14. Ray Johnson - The Deep End (Ray Johnson)
15. Lee Mitchell - How Can You Be So Cold (Lee Mitchell)
16. Shelley Fisher - St. James Infirmary (Joe Primrose)
17. Eminent Stars - Hearts Are Jumping (Ben Mendes)

Available from 27.03.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung