Recent posts

Fredfades – Warmth
Feb 23, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Saturday, Jan 24 2015 | 06:25
Image: 1594975 As a mainstay on the Detroit music scene for over thirty years, Danny Kroha has consistently pushed himself to reinvention. As founding member of garage legends the Gories, he's influenced countless imitators and poseurs. His axe work with Rocket 455 is the most quintessentially ''Detroit'' rock and roll this side of the MC5. And his turn as a pastied playgirl in the Demolition Doll Rods proved that even in drag, he was undeniably solid. So with his first full-length release under his own name, it may come as an unexpected turn that he's dealing in classic gospel and folk songs. Playing every instrument himself, spanning guitar, banjo, baritone dulcimer, diddley bow, washtub bass, jug and mouth organ, the end result is a collection of compelling, timeless traditional songs. Angels Watching Over Me is the real deal, seeming that it could've been recorded at any time over the past 70 years. With this album, Kroha firmly establishes himself as one of the pre-eminent practitioners of a genre in desperate need of someone with his creativity and vision in moving forward the classic American art form.

* recorded in empty 100-year-old house in Detroit
* featuring songs popularized by Son House, I.D. Stamper, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Brother Will Hairston
* ''Run Little Children'' written by Kroha, in the style of John Lee Hooker and played on diddley bow
* recommended if you like Charlie Patton, Mississippi Records, John Fahey, the Anthology of American Folk Music
* key markets: Detroit, Memphis, Chicago, San Francisco, Nashville
* Kroha best known as founding member of the Gories. Also played with Demolition Doll Rods, Danny and the Darleans and others
* radio promotion by the Syndicate

''I was very reluctant to put this stuff out because there's a ton of rootsy cornballs out there doing this kind of stuff and all of them play guitar way better than me. But I think I have something here that doesn?t really sound like anything else. The numbers that bounce really bounce. The numbers that drone really drone. I'm excited about this.'' - Danny Kroha

LP Packaging: standard weight vinyl, old style tip-on sleeve
Download code included


1. Angels Watching Over Me
2. I Want to Live So God Can Use Me
3. Rowdy Blues
4. Holy Ghost Don't Leave Me
5. Take Me Back
6. John Henry
7. Walking Boss
8. Run Little Children
9. The Road is Rough and Rocky
10. Cannonball Blues
11. You Got To Move
12. Gloryland
13. Before This Time Another Year
14. Jack O'Diamonds
15. Pretty Little Pink
16. Lonesome Valley Available from 06.02.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung