Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jan 23 2015 | 03:26
Image: 1594863 Between 1962 and 1971, the One-derful! family of labels released
180+ 45s of stunning soul, funk, and gospel. Over two years of
painstaking research and work, including countless hours spent
cataloging, transferring, and mastering 250 of the label’s tapes, has
contributed to an amazingly extensive reissue collection. In addition,
some of the world’s leading experts have contributed liner notes
and interviewed virtually every known surviving artist, producer, and
otherwise involved party. In total, the six volumes of the One-derful!
Collection include 12 LPs/6 CDs with 147 tracks, 57 which were
never issued, and 144 pages of 12” x 12” liner notes stuffed full of
rare and never before seen photos and memorabilia. Spanning 1962
to 1971, these compilations bring forth a wealth of overlooked and
never before heard recordings and history.

The second installment of the One-derful! Collection focuses on Mar-
V-Lus, the teen-oriented imprint of this legendary R&B label group.
Mar-V-Lus is preceded by the One- derful! Records compilation and
will be followed by releases of the M-Pac!, Halo, Midas, and Toddlin’
Town sub-labels. This series marks the first in-depth study of what
was once one of Chicago’s most prominent African-American run
Mar-V-Lus Records is available in 2xLP and CD formats, and
within the grooves of these 25 tracks lie classic dance numbers
from Alvin Cash, pure harmonies from The Du-Ettes, soulful funk
from Josephine Taylor, aching deep ballads from Johnny Sayles,
teen laments from Miss Madeline & The Young Folk, and Detroit
influenced uptempo floor fillers from Joseph Moore, The Blenders,
and The Ulti-mations, plus 10 tracks that were never issued!

A1. Josephine Taylor - For You My Love*
A2. Johnny Sayles - Don’t Turn Your Back On Me
A3. Alvin Cash & The Crawlers - Sweatin’ *
A4. The Du-Ettes - Stop, Call The Cop*
A5. The Blenders - Love Is A Good Thing Goin’
A6. Miss Madeline - Behave Yourself
B1. Alvin Cash & The Crawlers – Twine Time
B2. The Du-Ettes - If You Need Me
B3. Josephine Taylor - Ordinary Guy
B4. The Blenders - Your Love Has Got Me Down
B5. Cicero Blake - You’re Gonna Be Sorry
B6. Miss Madeline - Lonely Girl
B7. The Ulti-mations - Would I Do It Over
C1. Josephine Taylor - Your Love Picks Me Up
C2.The Young Folk - Joey
C3. The Du-Ettes - I’m Gonna Love You
C4. Joseph Moore - I Still Can’t Get You
C5. Vicky Clay - Oh It’s All Right
C6. Johnny Sayles - Whole Lot of Lovin’*
D1. Alvin Cash & The Registers - The Philly Freeze
D2. Josephine Taylor - I Want A Man*
D3. Baby Miracles - I Feel Good All Over*
D4. The Du-Ettes - Hello Tommy*
D5. Johnny Sayles - You Told A Lie
D6.The Ultimations – Sad Souvenirs* Available from 06.02.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung