Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jan 16 2015 | 03:26
Image: 1594619 To tie in with second installment of Supafunkanova we are re-releasing a re-packaged Volume 1.
Disco historians and top deckhands DJs Joey Negro and Sean P cast the net yet wider with 'Supafunkanova', another
retrospective of outstanding 12” tracks from the late 1970s and early 1980s.
Unearthing over 24 gems from their respective colossal record collections, the groovesome twosome pull together some of
the original backstreet 12s which put FUNK into the disco decades.
It’s a collection sure to please all. The hard-bitten funk fan is likely to find something he hasn’t unearthed yet or even knew
existed and the newly initiated disco boogie fan will find this a great place to start his digging. There’s even an exclusive
remix by Joey Negro of the old school classic "We Rap More Mellow” by The Younger Generation, thrown in as an added
This DOUBLE CD features some old school rap styles from Billy Lamont and South Bronx, plus some proper jazzy street funk
from Silver Lining, The Pied Piper of Funkingham and Hypertension. For the beat-focused, there are killer breaks to hand with
some old favourites from J. Gayle Gaymon, BLT and Legacy, as well as Ray Munning’s cooler than cool remake of ‘Funky
Nassau’. The gatefold Double LP also features a new and exclusive edit of Foreal People from Joey Negro.
Reigning in sounds from New York, South Carolina, Washington, Boston and Los Angeles, Supafunkanova Vol.1 is an
intoxicating blend of fiercely groovy arrangements, bouncy drumbeats and funk driven synths.
A musical mix still as likely to get the booty shaking as it was over 20 years ago!

1. Backlash - Hang With The Gang
2. The Pied Piper of Funkingham - Clap Song
3. Ray Munnings - It Could Happen To You
4. Legacy – I’m So Glad
5. J. Gayle Gaymon - (If You) Study Long, You’ll Study Wrong
6. BLT - Tighten It Up
7. Hypertension - Got This Feelin’
8. Needa - Come On And Rock
9. Foreal People - Love Begins With You
10. South Bronx - The Bottom Line
11. The Billy Mersey Band - Soul Kick
12. V.I.P. Connection - West Coast Drive
1. The Younger Generation - We Rap More Mellow
(Joey Negro Remix)
2. Jahneen - Gigolette
3. Billy Lamont & The UNN Band - The Man With The Master Plan
4. Marcia Pharr – I’ll Be The One
5. Leprechaun - Reach Out (And Touch Someone)
6. Jackie Cole & Hot Platnium Fantasy – I’ve Got A Trouble Man
(Sean P Edit)
7. Billy Evans - Prisoner of My Weakness (Joey Negro Edit)
8. Johnny Adams – Feel The Heat, Feel The Beat
9. Silver Lining - Silver Lining
10. Jackie Boy & Nature’s Creation - Freak Unique
11. Standing Room Only - Funk Affair
12. The Power Band - Power Funk Available from 27.02.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung