Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jan 09 2015 | 03:26
Image: 1593753 The Bristol-based four-piece are the loudest, most abrasive band on Sonic Cathedral to date, and one who make a mockery of those articles that crop up every now and again asking if guitar music is dead. "¡f guitars are supposed to be dead" wrote Drowned In Sound in their review of 2013's 'Hunger' EP, ¡t's probably because Spectres have killed them."

They certainly find influences in all the best places: first album My Bloody Valentine, 'Sister'-era Sonic Youth, the Loop of 'Heaven's End', Swervedriver's Creation-days desert-gaze, A Place To Bury Strangers' total sonic annihilation and Royal Trux¡'s squalid noise on 'Twin Infinitives' to name just a few.

The album opens with the ominous and unsettling white noise and dark found sounds of 'Drag' and is unrelenting for the next 50 minutes, taking in first single 'Where Flies Sleep', a re-recorded version of 'The Sky Of All Places¡', originally released early in 2014 as part of the Too Pure Singles Club, and 'Sea Of Trees', which was given away as a free download to attendees of Sonic Cathedral's recent 10th anniversary show at the 100 Club in London.

„Produced and mixed by Dominic Mitchison (Velcro Hooks).
„Featuring Oliver Wilde on backing vocals

1. Drag
2. Where Flies Sleep
3. The Sky Of All Places
4. Family
5. This Purgatory
6. Mirror
7. Blood In The Cups
8. Sink
9. Lump
10. Sea Of Trees

A1. Drag
A2. Where Flies Sleep
A3. The Sky Of All Places
A4. Family
A5. This Purgatory
A6. Mirror
B1. Blood In The Cups
B2. Sink
B3. Lump
B4. Sea Of Trees Available from 20.02.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung