Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Dec 12 2014 | 03:27
Image: 1593414 Strut return to the archives of seminal Chicago house label Dance Mania in January 2015 for ‘Dance Mania: Ghetto Madness’. The follow-up to Strut’s acclaimed Dance Mania label retrospective ‘Hardcore Traxx’ from early 2014, this new instalment places the spotlight on the raw, stripped back, hyper bpms of ghetto house and the rise of the movement’s fresh generation of stars during the mid’90s including DJ Deeon, DJ Funk, Jammin’ Gerald and DJ Milton.

The album tells the story of the evolution of Chicago’s sound during the era as mix tapes circulated through local stores and DJs developed their own underground following, playing local parties in the projects. Crowds began responding to faster bpms and gangsta rap-inspired X-rated lyrics. As DJ Deeon remembers, “it bridged the gap. It made it OK for guys in the ghetto to like house again and it brought the women onto the dancefloor too.” Dance Mania was perfectly positioned to capitalise on the new sound – many of the DJs came regularly into Ray Barney’s record store and, as Chicago’s most trusted and respected label owner, he was offered the best tracks for commercial release at an early stage.

‘Ghetto Madness’ brings together some of the underground classics and enduring favourites that earned Dance Mania the title of ‘Ghetto House’s Motown’. Tracks include DJ Deeon’s party-starter ‘The Freaks’, raw DJ Funk cut ‘Computer Sex’ and Nina Kraviz favourite, Paul Johnson’s ‘Give Me Ecstacy’. Other featured gems from the archive include the dark early Steve Poindexter outing ‘Computer Madness’ and Tyree’s in-demand jam, ‘Nuthin’ Wrong’.

‘Dance Mania: Ghetto Madness’ will be released in 1CD unmixed, 2LP and digital formats. Physical formats are fully illustrated in raw ghetto style by James Wilson and also feature CD a fold-out poster featuring an exclusive James Wilson illustration featuring the Dance Mania DJs as tattoos!

Key Points:
-follow up compilation to the hugely popular ‘Dance Mania: Hardcore Traxx’ release on Strut from 2014.
-Features exclusive illustrations by graphic artist James Wilson
-Tracklist features a who’s who of the ‘ghetto house’ sound which Dance Mania defined
-Unmixed CD, digital and LP formats for both home listening and DJ use
-strong addition to Strut’s range of house music compilation titles
-Limited first pressing of 180g vinyl

1.Jammin Gerald - Pump That Shit Up
2.DJ Deeon - The Freaks
3.DJ Deeon - 1112
4.Steve Poindexter - Computer Madness
5.Darien - Hit It
6.DJ Rush - The Reactor
7.Wax Master Maurice - Bounce That Body
8.Tyree – Nuthin’ Wrong
9.Jammin’ Gerald - Pump On The Floor
10. Paul Johnson - Give Me Ecstasy
11. Parris Mitchell - Ghetto Booty
12. DJ Milton - House-O-Matics
13. DJ Funk - Computer Sex
14. DJ Funk - Bitches
15. Houz’ Mon - The Groove

Available from 23.01.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung