Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Dec 12 2014 | 03:27
Image: 1592014 How much do you really know about Nina Kraviz? She’s a Russian techno DJ, an accomplished producer, one of dance music’s breakthrough names of the last five years. True enough, but there’s so much more to her story than that. She’s one of electronic music’s most interesting characters, someone who has stuck to her musical guns since day one, someone who has wide-ranging roots that run deep in the past, yet she’s also the embodiment of the future. Her signature sound is a raw blend of house and techno with a very acidic feel. If that feels very now, Kraviz has a lot to do with it, which is why she was asked to mix the latest instalment of !K7’s landmark ‘DJ Kicks’ series.

The result is up there with the best in the ‘DJ Kicks’ back catalogue. It’s a sublimely crafted set, deep and trippy, like you’ve tuned into a mysterious pirate radio station in the dead of the night or stumbled across a stream from an illegal party. Fourteen of the 30 tracks are exclusives from Kraviz’s òðèï label, including three of her own: ‘Mystery’, ‘IMPRV’ and ‘Prozimokompleme’.

“People probably know me for my Dance Mania-inspired, stripped down jacking groove style of DJing but the idea behind this particular mix was to create more of a trippy underwater vibe. A mysterious, sonic journey, inspired by the times I used to listen to late night radio growing up and imagine that all the sounds brought to me via the radio waves came directly from space.”

01. Egotrip - Dreamworld (Acapella)
02. Nina Kraviz - Mystery (DJ-Kicks)
03. Area - Broken Glass Everywhere
04. Prototype 909 - Atma
05. Goldie - Truth
06. Bjarki – Revolution **
07. Nina Kraviz – IMPRV **
08. Bjarki - Polygon Pink Toast **
09. Population One - Bonus Beat **
w/ Flatner / Ingram Project - Da Comin' (Jay Denham RMX)
w/ Parrish Smith - 1.0 / 8.0 Afrika Genocide **
10. Breaker 1 2 - In The Distance **
11. Steve Stoll - Pop Song **
12. Bradley Strider - Untitled
13. Stanislav Tolkachev - I Will Not Pee In The Pool
14. Armando - Pleasure Dome
15. Nina Kraviz – Prozimokompleme **
16. Baby Ford - 24 HR
17. Fred P - Higher Mentalism (edit) **
18. Exos - Nuclear Red Guard **
19. Steve Stoll - Corona
20. Freak Electrique - Parsec
21. Population One - Out Of Control (Vocal Mix) **
22. Exos & Octal – Grow **
23. Porn Sword Tobacco & SVN - Complaints A
24. Plaid - Oi
25. DJ Bone - The Vibe
26. Adam Beyer pres Conceiled Project - Pattern 1
27. Polygon Window - Quino-Phec
28. Nikita Zabelin feat. dBridge - So Lonely **
29. Rizhome – Coridor **
** òðèï exclusive

A1. Nina Kraviz - Mystery (DJ-Kicks)
A2. Nikita Zabelin feat. dBridge - So Lonely
B1. Armando - Pleasure Dome
B2. Plaid - Oi
C1. DJ Bone - The Vibe
C2. Freak Electrique - Parsec
D1. Polygon Window - Quino-Phec
Available from 23.01.2015
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung