Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Dec 10 2014 | 06:27
Image: 1594312 After a string of her own DIY EP’s, Low Leaf teams up with the burgeoning Fresh Selects label for the release of her official debut LP, AKASHAALAY. Her most fully realized and conceptual project to date, the album is a 10 song spiritual tribute to Low Leaf’s homeland, The Philippines. Inspired by her extended stays while touring there in recent years, and heartbroken by the tragedies the islands have recently faced, Low took to her instruments and wrote from the heart to her home. With themes of resurgence, unity, chaos, and gratitude – all rooted in tradition but looking towards the future – AKASHAALAY stands as a unique and powerful statement both to and from a region that’s all-too-unheard in American music today. Sonically, Low Leaf is heard here in her sharpest form yet – mixing the acoustic harp sound of her Alchemizing Dawn EP, with the electronic experimentation of UNEARTHly¬ – showing substantial growth and improvement upon them both, with a keen sense for traditional pop songwriting is its backbone.

• LP includes digital download card, colored sleeves with full lyrics, lock-out grooves and other hidden messages
• #1 Best Selling Cassette on Bandcamp its first week.
• Featured ‘World’ Selection on iTunes first month
• Recent press includes: L.A. Record magazine (cover), (cover), MTV, Spin, Consequence Of Sound and Boiler Room
• Recent collaborations include Hiatus Kaiyote, Ras_G, King Britt, Mark de Clive-Lowe, and MAST.
• R.I.Y.L.: Little Dragon, Lianne La Havas, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Kaki King, Yuna, Sonnymoon.

1. Umaga
2. Rise Up
3. Set Me Free
4. Bahay Kubo *
5. As One
6. Slaveless Master
7. Ascension
8. 2b1wd Etternal
9. Kami Ang Mga Tao
10. Life Is Peace Available from 26.12.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung