Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Oct 20 2014 | 08:46 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Tru Thoughts 15th AnniversaryThis year sees the 15th Anniversary of Tru Thoughts Recordings, the pioneering and innovative label from Brighton which won the coveted Gilles Peterson Worldwide Award for Best Label way back in 2005 and has continued to go from strength to strength, amassing a truly international roster and fanbase as well as mainstream acclaim. This double CD compilation – all compiled by A&R Robert Luis – celebrates the past, present and future of his thriving independent label’s eclectic and adventurous catalogue. The deluxe CD booklet also includes exclusive photographs and an in depth interview with Robert Luis and label co-owner Paul Jonas.

This celebration of independent artistic talent encompasses the early leftfield electronica of Bonobo and Quantic’s trailblazing world explorations, to Alice Russell’s powerhouse soul and New Orleans’ iconic Hot 8 Brass Band; UK legends like Rodney P and Zed Bias, through to the stars of tomorrow with cutting edge production from Lost Midas, Titeknots and Werkha and the natural vocal prowess of Harleighblu. The double CD features some previously unreleased exclusives, including Wickaman’s D&B remix of the popular Wrongtom Meets Deemas J cut “Jump+Move+Rock”, and a new rework by Paul SG of Bonobo’s classic “Terrapin”.

The release follows the London label party at Koko in February at which the artists, staff and some 1500 fans welcomed the label’s 15th Birthday year in explosive style; the Tru Thoughts 15th Anniversary celebrations are now getting into full swing, with festival takeovers across the Summer and an anniversary show at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles on 20th October.

Reflecting on the release, Robert Luis says: “Our 15th Anniversary is a chance for us to celebrate how far we’ve come, but also to look forward with excitement for the future”, this compilation certainly does just that.



01. Quantic & Alice Russell with the Combo Bárbaro – Look Around The Corner
02. Nostalgia 77 – Quiet Dawn (Bonobo Remix)
03. The Bamboos – I Don’t Wanna Stop (Marc Mac Grown Soul Mix)
04. Maddslinky – Further Away feat. Tawiah
05. Harleighblu – This Way
06. Lanu – Roosevelt Blues feat. Megan Washington
07. Freddie Cruger & Anthony Mills Are Wildcookie – Tuesday Is Friday
08. Bonobo – Dinosaurs
09. Hidden Orchestra – Dust
10. Quantic & His Combo Bárbaro – Undelivered Letter
11. Hot 8 Brass Band – Steamin’ Blues
12. Natural Self – The Rising feat. Andreya Triana (The Broken Keys Remix)
13. Alice Russell – For A While
14. Mark de Clive-Lowe – The Why feat. Nia Andrews
15. Kinny – You From This Sting
16. Belleruche – Wasted Time


01. The Quantic Soul Orchestra – Pushin’ On feat. Alice Russell (Situation Edit)
02. Hint – Aliens Enter feat. T-Fly (Hint Remix)
03. Werkha – Lapwing
04. Lost Midas – Dance Monkeys feat. NüTrik
05. Omar & Zed Bias – Dancing
06. Don Pascal – Tributo (The Reflex Tribute Mix)
07. Zed Bias – Fairplay feat. Jenna G (Zed Bias Old Skool Mix)
08. Saravah Soul – Mestico (Debruit Remix)
09. Bonobo – Terrapin (Paul SG Remix)
10. London Posse – Money Mad (Drumagick Jungle Remix)
11. Wrongtom Meets Deemas J – Jump+Move+Rock (Wickaman Remix)
12. Sleepin’ Giantz – Badungdeng
13. Titeknots – Hummingbirds
14. Ty – Knock Knock

The compilation VariousTru Thoughts 15th Anniversary” (Tru Thoughts) is going to be released October 24, 2014.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung