Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Love Machine
Feb 19, 2018
Feb 13, 2018
Feb 06, 2018
Jan 29, 2018
Movements Vol.9
Jan 22, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Sep 23 2014 | 10:53 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Erlend OyeErlend Øye is a skinny nerd, but maybe that’s what makes him a pop star. His huge thick spectacle-lenses act as an interface between his inner life and his numerous collaborators and fans. Erlend Øye is a travelling singer-songwriter, who has been making music in various constellations since the late nineties. He sang for Röyksopp, while his own bands are Kings of Convenience and The Whitest Boy Alive, who recently split up. A laid back, everyday vibe runs through Erlend Øye’s music. Erlend is not larger than life, at the most his songs may be. The pop star from next-door doesn’t make any drama, but leaves that to life itself. His relaxed, laid back sound opens your eyes and ears for places, situations and encounters. A certain mournfulness runs through the songs, although they deal with a longing for self-fulfilment. Erlend sings of loneliness, and in doing so, he creates a ‘we’. Until now Erlend’s projects have often been based on simple concepts – two guitars and two vocals with Kings of Convenience, and four instruments with The Whitest Boy Alive. With his new solo album he frees himself of these parameters; for the first time everything is possible, for the first time Erlend Øye stands alone. The songs on ‘Legao’ were arranged and recorded with the Icelandic reggae band Hjálmar.

The magic of ‘Legao’ lies in the fact that Erlend’s vulnerable vocals and his sincere lyrics are supported by the elegance and consistency of the band. Today roughness is often used to counterbalance roughness, whereas on Legao a equilibrium is sought – and found. A simplicity, clarity and minimalism is created that is rarely found in pop music. Erlend Øye has grown up. He accomplishes nothing less than the step towards an independent, free-standing solo musician, who can perform in any constellation – with a band, orchestra or alone with a guitar.

– Recorded at Hljóðriti studio in Hafnafjordur, Reykjavik, Iceland, in four sessions between 2013 and 2014.
– Mixed by Norman Nitzsche in his studio in Pappelallee, Berlin.
– Mastered by Bo Kondren at Calyx, Berlin. Mastered by Doug Van Sloun at Focus.


01. Fence Me In
02. Garota
03. Say Goodbye
04. Peng Pong
05. Bad Guy Now
06. Who Do You Report To?
07. Whistler
08. Save Some Loving
09. Rainman
10. Lies Become Part Of Who You Are

The album Erlend OyeLegao” (Bubbles) is going to be released October 3, 2014.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung