Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Sep 19 2014 | 06:30
Image: 1591064 Deja Vu is the sophomore release from Seattle’s torch bearing
producer / vocalist, Def Dee. Building upon a potent and well
received discography that includes a standout beat tape known as
“Cheat Heat” as well as his debut album, 33 and a Third (released
on Mello Music Group), Deja Vu is Def Dee’s testament to quality
hip-hop. The project is a unique listen and plays especially well
as a complete album. It has a Lyricist Lounge vibe but Def Dee
isn’t simply rehashing the sounds of yesterday, his approach
to unquantized rhythms and sample is unique and sonically
Though this is Dee’s second full length, it is his first appearance
on vinyl through a special venture with Redef Records via friend/
mentor, Damu the Fudgemunk. To mark the occasion, Def Dee
was given the task of producing a complete work and he delivered
with ease, showing that he can bang with the best of them. On
Deja Vu, Def Dee acts as music director while an accomplished
team of MCs effortlessly covers a wide variety of topics and
ideas throughout the program. The album features a handfull of
instrumentals alongside guest appearances from Roc Marciano, El
Da Sensei, Blu, One Be Lo, Raw Poetic and other creatives. Def
Dee is making a strong statement with Deja Vu. Are you listening?

1. Deja Vu Intro
2. Place Your Bet
3. C’mon Now
4. Church
5. We Back Interlude
6. Clan In Front Feat. Zar & Kaimbr
7. Marciano Feat. Roc Marciano
8. I’m Ghetto
9. New Burners Feat. Blu, La, Flex Matthews
10. My Own Category Interlude Feat. Damu The Fudgemunk
11. Ay Gurl Skit Feat. The First Ladies
12. Pay More Attention
13. Toss n Turn Feat. One Be Lo
14. Yeah Feat. El Da Sensei
15. Beau Feat. Raw Poetic

1. Limited Edition Vinyl Debut from Redefinition / Mello Music Group artist, Def Dee
2. Features cameos by Roc Marciano, El Da Sensei (Artifacts), Blu, One Be Lo, Raw Poetic, Kaimbr, Flex Mathews & More.
3. Upcoming music video for “”Yeah”” featuring El Da Sensei, shot at a vinyl manufacturing facility. Available from 05.09.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung