Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jun 30 2014 | 21:31
Image: 1589072 Aus label boss and !K7's own Will Saul is next up in the DJ-KiCKs series.

01. Will Saul & Komon - Bendy
02. Animal Hands - Beacon Island
03. Komon & Appleblim - The Visionary State
04. Joe Gray - Tozai
05. Cottam - Healing Process
06. Youandewan - Ego
07. Jabru - Church feat. Joel Culpepper
08. Lrusse - Presence
09. Walton - Birds
10. Leon Vynehall - Time
11. Will Saul & Komon - Two For One (DJ-Kicks)
12. Sei A - Reserve
13. Axel Boman - Dubbel (dub) / CLOSE feat. Tikiman - Born In A Rolling Barrel
14. Sei A - JTR
15. October - KR-100 Dub
16. David Clement - Follow Me Home (Lee Jones Remix)
17. Marquis Hawkes - Life Struggle
18. Bicep - Nova
19. Will Saul - Pedal Power
20. Legowelt - Etherial Techno Music Will Never Die
21. George FitzGerald - Wanting Needing
22. Gerry Read - Baseball
23. Escape - Flinch
24. Second Storey - Oxygene

Hot on the heels of the DJ mix of 2013 from John Talabot and following luminaries such as
Maya Jane Coles, Maceo Plex and Breach, next in line to mix it up for the esteemed !K7
DJ-Kicks series is Aus Music and Simple Records boss Will Saul.
Englishman Saul has had a busy 12 months – not only did 2013 see him release his debut
album as Close, an avant guard dance-pop project that called upon high profile collaboraa
tors like Scuba and Appleblim and landed on !K7, but so too did he make his debut in the
live arena at clubs like London’s influential fabric. Of course, in that time he has also continn
ued to steer both his labels down various underground house, bass and techno paths, nurr
turing new talent and old heads alike.
Says the man himself… "I wanted the mix to represent how I DJ in the sense that the majorr
ity of my sets are made up mainly of my own, or my label’s, unreleased or forthcoming
music. Hopefully this gives me something unique as DJ, not just as I play tracks that no one
else has, but also because they are artists and tracks that I love enough to want to sign, so
they really represent what I love about electronic music.
“With this in mind, I approached all my nearest and dearest for some tailor made exclusive
tracks. The result is hopefully a mix that rekindles the thing I loved about listening to mixes
20 years ago – that unknown aspect where each new track is a surprise. In a time when all
music/track IDs and myriad mixes are accessible at the click of a button, I hope this makes
for something a little more interesting.”
Will Saul’s DJ-Kicks represents a condensed version of one of his DJ sets – it touches on
all aspects from warm-up to headline to closing sets and highlights the taste-making label
boss’s current musical fascinations in terms of the producers he is working with be they
new, unknown or more established.

• Head A&R of critically acclaimed Aus Music
• Compiled using only exclusive material, including 3 by Will Saul
• 10,000 Facebook likes
• 10,000 Twitter followers
• 45,000 SoundCloud followers
• Supported with a DJ-Kicks tour - dates to be announced

Web: Available from 13.06.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung