Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jun 30 2014 | 21:31
Image: 1588406 BBE continue their longstanding relationship with DJ Vadim and present his 11th! solo album the dub dancehall reggae influenced album Dubcatcher.

Some of the best things in life come in pairs, peanut butter and jelly, fish n chips, cheese and wine, DJ Vadim and dancehall reggae! This may raise an eyebrow or two as Russian
immigrés and reggae may not be the first thing on your mind, however, this isn’t your normal reggae runnings and DJ Vadim, aka Daddy Vad does not do run of the mill. In fact it’s bigger than reggae. Seeing that this is his 11th long player there is as ever a twist. Residing in the multi –cultural cauldron of East Ham, this is fertile ground for innovation and creating The New and for a man with a musical career spanning 20 years, he comes with some very refined spirits.
Never one to sit on his laurels, he comes with a duology of albums. The Dubcatcher and then The Soulcatcher - two sides to one man. First comes the bass and later comes the soul! The Dubcatcher is not the first reggae outing for Daddy Vad. That vein has been there ever since his first release in the 90s however this is the first time the whole skanks in a reggae style and fashion. The last few years have seen Vadim support Fat Freddy’s Drop worldwide as well as remixing their back catalogue, touring with Anthony B, Capelton, Macka B, Collie Budz... However this is not simply an album recreating some period in time. It’s an album taking influences from classic roots music, 80s digital, bashment, original UK 2 step soul, bass
culture and of course some boom bap rap. Like a scientist discovering antiquated electronics and updating them with new circuitry… think more Eddie Grant, than Sean Paul. Taking a
musical genre and infusing it with the sounds of soul, boogie and rap, cranking up the bass to 11 and sometimes just dubbin’ it...conscious, social, political but also playful and ample portion for the lovers. Like one of the albums’ skits, it’s all about vibesing up the place. I wanna hear some drums n bass!

Featuring - Gappy Ranks, Jamalski, Demolition Man, Governor Tiggy, Serocee, Katrina Blackstone, Jimmy Screech, Yt, Karen B, Sabira Jade, Rio Hemopo, Crosby Bolani, musicians
from Fat Freddy’s Drop and King Porter Stomp

- Full press & radio campaign UK, France, Germany, USA
- Over 200 gigs globally in 2013, DJ Vadim will be appearing in a town near you soon
- Massive online presence with over 100,000 dedicated followers
- Limited gatefold vinyl of the LP includes CD of the physical album

For Fans of Fat Freddy’s Drop/ Mungo's Hifi/ Alborosie/ Gregory Isaacs/ Jstar / Shy FX

1. Hope ft Rio Hemopo & Sabira Jade
2. If Life Was a Thing ft Demolition Man
3. Consignment ft Govenor Tiggy
4. Nah Join ft YT
5. Sweet Like a Lolly ft Governor Tiggy
6. Originate It ft Dynamite MC
7. Give It Up ft Katrina Blackstone & YT
8. Action ft Jimmy Screech
9. Lyrical Soldier ft Demolition Man
10. Magnetic ft Katrina Blackstone & Serocee
11. Rise ft Rio Hemopo & Sabira Jade
12. Badman ft Demolition Man
13. Raggamuffin Life ft Jamalski
14. Ring My Bell ft Governor Tiggy
15. Pele ft Karen B
16. Carpenter ft Gappy Rank
Available from 13.06.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung