Recent posts

Fredfades – Warmth
Feb 23, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jun 20 2014 | 00:30
Image: 1589993 Green vinyl edition of the new album by Zackey Force Funk (previously appearing in the hit+run 777 series.) Huge tip!!
"Zackey Force Funk was born into this wild world in Tucson, AZ in 1974. In and out of prison since the age of 17, ZFF began producing on pirated software his brother gave to him once he had given up a life crime to focus on writing tunes and raising his family.

First discovered by Kutmah back in the golden era of Myspace, Zackey's signature "Force Funk Sound" swiftly grabbed the attention of a number of formidable producers. Collaborations followed shortly after with the likes of Salva, Lazer Sword, Lorn, Baron Zen, Daedelus and B. Bravo, as well as forming the group Demon Queen with Tobacco. As these tunes were scattered across various labels, finding their homes on their respective collaborator's projects, ZFF continued to hone his style, delving deeper into the psychedelic future funk realm of which he has created for himself. The fruits of his discipline all add up to his forthcoming debut LP entitled 'Money Green Viper", to be released in July of 2014 on LA based collective Hit+Run.

'Money Green Viper' plays as a scrapbook of late night joyrides, fast women, demonic visions, real rap rituals and the ever-present pursuit of infinite paper. All of these tales are woven over dust ridden, boogie and funk influenced beats with Zacky's beautifully haunting vocal stylings as our tour guide. Productions are laced from an appropriate cast of sound architects from across the globe, including Max Kane and Teeko, XL Middleton, Jellphonic, Cupp Cave, Tom Noble, Mike Gao, and of course ZFF himself. Having recently transplanted from Tucson to LA, it seems only natural for the year of the Force Funk Sound to be upon us. 'Money Green Viper' serves as the initial full length transmission of a fantastical mind that has many more stories to tell. We await the dark doctrine with open eyes, ears and hearts."

1. Glass Tear Groove // (Produced by Inkswel)
2. Press Play // (Produced by XL Middleton & Eddy Funkster)
3. Cocaine Lady // (Produced by Tom Noble)
4. Where Buffalo Roam - feat. Reggie Blount // (Produced by Reggie Blount)
5. Yo Bael // (Produced by Mike Gao)
6. Dream Shine Cola // (Produced by Cupp Cave)
7. Montego Bay // (Produced by Zackey Force Funk)
8. A$$$low // (Produced by Cupp Cave)
9. Zackey Can't Rap // (Produced by Zackey Force Funk)
10. Out My Mind - feat. Teeko // (Produced by Max Kane)
11. Gunny Peace // (Produced by Josh Jetson)
12. Roch // (Produced by Roch)
13. Write Her Name // (Produced by Jellphonic)
14. Fuck Your Fire // (Produced by Zackey Force Funk)
15. Suicide (Produced by Zackey Force Funk) Available from 30.05.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung