Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jun 12 2014 | 21:30
Image: 1587898 ‘Magnetica’ sees Quantic revisiting his electronic roots, blending cutting-edge and distinctive production with elements of folk, reggae, soul, highlife, cumbia and more. Other featured guests on the album include Alice Russell, Shinehead, Nidia Gongora, Dereb The Ambassador, Thalma De Freitas and Anibal Velásquez, illuminating the sounds, styles and languages of Ethiopia, Jamaica, Brazil, the UK and beyond.

‘Magnetica’ is the first studio album from Quantic under his main solo moniker since ‘An Announcement To Answer’ in 2006 so the anticipation is running high. He has, of course, been far from quiet in that time, with releases from many significant side-projects including The Quantic Soul Orchestra, Quantic and his Combo Bárbaro, Flowering Inferno, Quantic & Alice Russell, and Ondatrópica, and a host of thrilling live bands to match.

The ‘Magnetica’ album is a truly exciting listen, taking in all the influences that trailblazing troubadour Will “Quantic” Holland has soaked up from his travels - including the last seven years spent living in Colombia - and collaborations with musicians from Latin America, Africa, the Caribbean and beyond, blended with the innate talent for trend-setting electronic club music that has always made him one to watch.

The first official single from the LP, announced among much fanfare, with a video premiere on THE GUARDIAN is “Duvidó” featuring Angolan born, Portuguese resident singer Pongo Love. The fiery vocal delivery, and lyrics in Portuguese heavily dosed with slang from Portugal and Angola, makes this intoxicating party cut all the more unique.

The eclectic array of guests to appear on the ‘Magnetica’ album also includes Alice Russell, Shinehead, Nidia Góngora, Dereb The Ambassador, Thalma De Freitas and Anibal Velásquez.

‘Magnetica’ Tracklisting:
1. Magnetica
2. You Will Return Featuring Alice Russell
3. Descarga Cúantica Featuring Fruko & Michi Sarmiento
4. Duvidó Featuring Pongo Love
5. Arada Featuring Dereb The Ambassador
6. La Plata Featuring Nidia Góngora
7. Sol Clap
8. Spark It Featuring Shinehead
9. Caruru
10. La Callejera Featuring Anibal Velásquez
11. Muévelo Negro Featuring Nidia Góngora
12. Águas De Sorongo Featuring Thalma De Freitas
13. Painting Silhouettes

Date Country City Venue/Festival
08 May UK Leeds Belgrave Music Hall
09 May UK Manchester Band On The Wall
10 May UK Birmingham Hare & Hounds
11 May NL Rotterdam Bird
12 May NL Amsterdam North Sea Jazz Club
13 May DE Berlin Gretchen
22 May BE Brussels VK
23 May FR Paris Trianon
25 May UK Bristol Love Saves The Day
27 May UK Nottingham Rescue Rooms
28 May UK Exeter Phoenix
29 May UK London KOKO Available from 23.05.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung