Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jun 12 2014 | 21:30
Image: 1589618 The quartet’s members Nicole Miglis, Trayer Tryon, Paul Giese & Zach Tetreault played together in various formations as far back as middle school, but it took until adulthood and 2012 for them to become Hundred Waters. Living under one roof meant the band had a communal mentality, yet each maintained their own distinct projects, borrowing here and there from each other. It was in interpreting a friends’ music together that they discovered the power of their combination, and they quickly fell to work reorienting their lives around an album. The music they found was a beautiful blend of contradictions, mournful yet colorful, introverted yet aware, and brought the tradition of songwriting to a strange future. Initially released by their local label Elestial Sound, their self-titled debut soon became seen as the sound of Florida, drawing loose comparisons to Stereolab, Four Tet, and Bjork. The band has taken its live show around the world, touring with artists such as Grimes, Julia Holter, Alt-J & The xx.

“The Moon Rang Like A Bell” is released by Skrillex’s imprint OWSLA
in the US, and released by !K7 Records in Europe.

Key Points
- Toured (direct support) w/ The xx & Alt-J in 2013
- European tour dates planned for Summer 2014
- Featured on Pitchfork’s Top 40 Most Anticipated Releases of 2014
- "Down from the Rafters” named Pitchfork’s Best New Track, Stereogum #1
Track of the Week on 2/19/14
- “Down from the Rafters” featured on NPR’s All Songs Considered podcast 2/25/14
- Biz3 US print/online press, Family UK print/online press, dedicated teams in
Germany and France.
- Remixes by Araab Muzik, Star Slinger, Blood Diamonds, Teebs, TokiMonsta
- Videos available for “Cavity,” “Down From The Rafters,” & “Crosstalk”


For Fans of: The xx, Alt-J, Stereolab, Four Tet, Bjork, The Big Pink, Friendly Fires

01. Show Me Love
02. Murmurs
03. Cavity
04. Out Alee
05. Innocent
06. Broken Blue
07. Chambers (Passing Train)
08. Down From The Rafters
09. [Animal]
10. Seven White Horses
11. Xtalk
12. No Sound Available from 23.05.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung