Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Apr 24 2014 | 21:31
Image: 87908 Leaders Of The New School began recording their debut album late in 1989 under the watchful eye of Chuck D and the Bomb Squad. The end result was their masterful 1991 release A Future Without A Past. The group’s members, Charlie Brown, Dinco D, Cut Monitor Milo & Busta Rhymes each complement one another, mixing classic Cold Crush Brothers style routines with
a ‘New School’ edge. Leaders Of The New School made an impact that had them literally living up to their name. Often slept on, A Future Without A Past stands as a trail blazing release due to its mix of Jazz samples with fun creative story telling on top of pounding Hip Hop drums. The first thing that grabs you while listening to A Future Without A Past is the unique delivery of the three rappers (Dinco D, Charlie Brown, and Busta Rhymes) in both lyrical content and flow. Stand out tracks such as “Transformers”, “Sound of the Zeekers”, “International Zone Coaster”, “Sobb Story” and the lead single “Case of the P.T.A” all display the multi-talents of each MC and how they bounced off each other’s style. “Feminine Fatt” and “My Ding A Ling” showed the groups more playful edge, while “Show Me A Hero” and “Teachers Don’t Teach Us Nonsense” had the group trading rhymes in their rapid fire deliveries. With a sound so fresh and new, the production on the album rivaled what Public Enemy started and the Native Tongues finished. Often underappreciated, A Future Without A Past is 90s rap at its best and a must for any Busta Rhymes fan.

1. Homeroom
2. Case Of The P.T.A.
3. Too Much On My Mind
4. What’s The Pinocchio’s Theory?
5. Just When You Thought It Was Safe...
6. Lunchroom
7. Sound Of The Zeekers
8. Sobb Story
9. Feminine Fatt
10. Transformers
11. Afterschool
12. Show Me A Hero
13. Trains, Planes And Automobiles
14. The International Zone Coaster
15. Teachers, Don’t Teach Nonsense!!
16. My Ding-A-Ling
17. Where Do We Go From Here? Available from 04.04.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung