Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Mar 26 2014 | 21:32
Image: 1587774 Soul Jazz Records new release Inner City Beat! Detective Themes, Spy Music and Imaginary Thrillers 1967-1975 is a unique CD / 2LP release that comes with an exclusive limited-edition specially created 60-page graphic novel (by the mysterious cult 1960s pulp-fiction writer Mark 'Badly' Antringham).

The music on the album is a killer selection of funky, deep, rare, exciting and dancefloor heavyweight ‘spy themes’, ‘detective music’ and thrillers from the 1960s and 1970s. The music spans heavyweight break-beat funk, deep and heavy jazz, super-catchy mod themes, imaginary super-charged orchestral soundtracks and more.
These tracks are put together from British library music companies (DeWolfe, KPM, Conroy, Amphonic), all of whom supplied music regularly to television and films around the world during this period, often for use in detective and spy programmes, series and films. Many were never broadcast and have thus remained unheard, stored in the vaults for many years.
To accompany this unique album, Soul Jazz have also commissioned the creation of a special 60-page graphic novel which features the stunning artwork of the elusive illustrator John C. Patterson in partnership with the celebrated 1960s pulp fiction cult novelist Mark ‘Badly’ Antringham. The graphic novel is set in the imaginary seedy streets of East London in the 1960s in a world full of corrupt police, political intrigue and violent sadistic criminals. This unique limited-edition graphic novel comes free with the initial run of the album Inner City Beat.

Heavyweight deluxe gatefold super-loud double vinyl release (with free download code). This vinyl album also includes the full graphic novel.


1. Peter Reno and Barry Stoller - Sparks (2.17)
2. Syd Dale - Danger Musicians At Work (1.52)
3. Clive Hicks - Drums in Transit (1.35)
4. Norrie Paramor - Theme From Scotland Yard (2.36)
5. Francis Coppieters - Funky Chimes (3.11)
6. Dave Richmond- Gotta Getaway (2.49)

1. Dave Richmond - Heavy Lead (1.43)
2. Reg Tilsley - Ode To A Stone (2.33)
3. Ernest Copley - Fuel Injection (2.39)
4. Brass Incorporated - On A Bicycle Made For 3 (2.56)
5. Tilsley Orchestral - The Ratcatchers (1.52)
6. Ernest Copley - Dynamic Patterns (2.30)

1. David Lindup - Men of Action (1.41)
2. Brass Incorporated - Come One, Come All (2.41)
4. Francis Coppieters - Cross Talk (3.20)
4. The International Studio Orchestra - High Diplomacy (2.22)
5. Syd Dale - The Hell Raisers (2.16)

1. Johnny Pearson - Product Efficiency (3.34)
2. Johnny Hawksworth - Conveyor Belt (1.34)
3. The International Studio Orchestra - Police Five (1.13)
4. Johnny Pearson - Grand Prix (3.11)
5. David Lindup - Superformance (2.12)
6. Ernest Copley - Crossflow (2.09)
7. Johnny Hawksworth - Workshop (1.08) Available from 07.03.2014
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung