Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jan 20 2014 | 16:22 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Penthouse 25 - The Journey ContinuesLegendary Jamaican producer Donovan Germain and his Penthouse label productions have made an indelible mark in the history of reggae music. To commemorate 25 years since the founding of Penthouse recording studio, VP Records and Mr. Germain have collaborated on the new release Penthouse Records 25 Years – The Journey Continues. The 2 CD/DVD collection will be available on January 24, 2014.

The Penthouse Records 25 audio discs highlight essential hits, new tracks from its current roster and two unreleased tracks from the legendary Garnett Silk (“My Favorite Song” and a remix of his classic “Everything I Got”). Hosted by Mr. Germain himself, the bonus DVD is an hour and 45 minute journey through the history of the studio and label and features many the key players in Jamaican music. Interviews include original Penthouse crew members Tony Rebel, Richie Stephens, Wayne Wonder, Marcia Griffiths and Beres Hammond.

The Penthouse studio – originally located at 56 Slipe Road in Kingston, Jamaica – produced many of the genre’s biggest hits during the late 1980s and 1990s and has continued to churn out chart-topping anthems since relocating in 1998 to its current address 6 Ballater Avenue. Founder Donovan Germain produced world-class recordings alongside the island’s top engineers and studio musicians of the time – including Steven Stanley, Dave and Tony Kelly, Michael “Coolie” Cooper, Steely and Clevie, Sly and Robbie, Firehouse Crew, Steven “Lenky” Marsden and Mafia and Fluxy – and played an instrumental role in developing the careers of reggae stars Buju Banton (cranking out the most No. 1 singles for the reggae icon to date), Wayne Wonder, Cutty Ranks, Richie Stephens, Beres Hammond, Romain Virgo, Queen Ifrica and more.

In addition to these artists, the deluxe 47-song collection features today’s crop of Penthouse artists, including Dalton Harris, D Major, Exco Levi, RC and Shuga. Producer and visionary Donovan Germain’s quest for excellence is evident. He says “it’s all about the next hit song,” and for Penthouse Records the journey continues.

The DVD includes historical narration from Donovan Germain, Beres Hammond, Marcia Griffiths and others, music videos and rare images.



01. One In A Million – Sanchez
02. Deep In My Heart – Marcia Griffiths
03. Chaka On The Move – Chaka Demus
04. Ting Deh (Thing Deh) – Nigger Mikey
05. Love Mi Haffi Get – Beres Hammond & Cutty Ranks
06. Pon Mi Nozzle – Cutty Ranks
07. Tom’s Diner – Michigan & Smiley
08. Love Within The Music – Beres Hammond, Dennis Brown, Freddie McGregor, Glen Ricks & Marcia Griffiths
09. Brought Me Love – Dennis Brown
10. Crying Fool – Tiger
11. Brinks – General Degree
12. Prophet – Capleton
13. Who Say – Buju Banton & Beres Hammond
14. Treat The Woman – Terry Ganzie
15. Wicked And Wild – Nadine Sutherland
16. Everything I Got (Remix) – Garnett Silk *
17. Order – Terry Fabulous
18. Spoiled By Your Love – Carol Gonzales
19. No Respect (Remix) – Buju Banton
20. I’d Die Without You – Wayne Wonder
21. Forever – Richie Stephens
22. Oh God Of My Salvation – Buju Banton
23. Good Director – Buccaneer


01. El Shaddai – Jahmali
02. Tears On My Pillow – Twiggi
03. Nah Get No Bligh – Sean Paul
04. Mr. Sea – Da’Ville
05. My Pride And Joy – Beres Hammond
06. Go If You Want – Buju Banton
07. Below The Waist – Queen Ifrica
08. United We Stand – Freddie McGregor & Marcia Griffiths
09. All My Life – Marcia Griffiths & Da’Ville
10. Mi Caan Sleep – Romain Virgo
11. I Feel Good – Beres Hammond
12. Lioness On The Rise – Queen Ifrica
13. I Can’t Recall – Tony Rebel
14. Bleaching Shop – Exco Levi
15. Brickwall – Richie Stephens & Dennis Brown
16. Comfort Zone – Busy Signal
17. No Candle Light – Beres Hammond
18. When I Was Your Man – RC
19. You Will Know – Dalton Harris
20. My Favorite Song – Garnett Silk *
21. Real Know Real – D Major
22. Reggae Is Life – Sherieta
23. Ebony – Shuga
24. Saxophone Stories – Dean Fraser

* indicates previously unreleased

The compilation VariousPenthouse 25 – The Journey Continues” (VP) is going to be released January 24, 2014.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung