Monday, Jan 06 2014 | 16:54

Jimmy EdgarEndowed with a supernatural feel for futuristic funk, the Detroit native has been bleeping and grinding since he was a teenager. While his peers were worrying about their grades and popularity, Edgar was spinning alongside his hometown’s DJ heroes and programming intricate beats that were unquestionably interplanetary communication disguised as dance music.

In 2001 at the tender of 18, his hyper-sexed microchip stylings caught the ear of Warp, where he cranked out his brand of amped-up laptop funk for the next eight years, culminating in the full-length classic ‘Color Strip’. XXX (released July 2010 on !K7) with its New Jack Swing winked as much at Minneapolis, Compton and Paris as it does Detroit or Berlin.

On March 17 Jimmy Edgar released his first new material in nearly two years, and his debut for Hotflush, MAJENTA, with the single “This One’s For The Children”. Majenta’s blend of airbrushed 80s futurism and otherwordly sensuality, co-created with recent collaborator and kindred spirit Pilar Zeta, visually expresses Edgar’s obsession with spirituality, technology, and the occult. Moved by a transformative trip to Peru’s fabled Machu Picchu, the lifelong transcendence fetishist hopes to rekindle a similar passion for the supernatural in newer audiences.

As part of that mission, In 2013 Edgar and Machinedrum co-founded Ultramajic, a label and collective for their various projects. In addition to their work as DJ duo JETS, Stewart will provide A&R to the label; their first release was Edgar’s 3-track EP Hot Inside.

At an age when many artists are just coming into their own, Edgar is more secure in his artistic vision than ever. Most importantly, after years of shape-shifting into others’ molds, Jimmy Edgar is now in full control.

Jimmy Edgar Top 10 December 2013:

01. Jimmy Edgar – Ultraviolet (Ultramajic)
02. Jay Daniel – I Have No Name (Sound Signature)
03. DJ Deeon – Yo Mouf (Dance Mania)
04. My Favorite Robot – White Light (Jimmy Edgar remix) (No.19 Music)
05. Marcellus Pittman – Chicago Nights (Unirhythm)
06. TWR72 – Steie (Turbo Recordings)
07. Marcello Napoletano – Everyday Madness (Rush Hour Recordings)
08. FM (S.Stoll) – Pepper Sauce (Proper NYC)
09. French Fries – Machine (ClekClekBoom)
10. Plastikman – Naturalistik (Plus 8 Records Ltd)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung