Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Detroit Swindle
Nov 20, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Nov 15 2013 | 15:10 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Selected Label Works 4Round four of Permanent Vacation’s flagship label compilation “Selected Label Works”. Part 4 is usually the sequel when Hollywood takes the wrong turn and drives away from the light into eternal darkness. Luckily Tom Bioly and Benjamin Fröhlich, head honchos of Permanent Vacation, have functional headlights to stay on the bright side and even managed have some firecrackers in the trunk.

“Selected Label Works 4″ reflects two busy years of work and compiles different artist albums and numerous ass shaking 12” releases on two steamy compact discs. Starring for example Irish queen Roisin Murphy with the stardusted slow pumping “Simulation”, which is also featured here in the floor burning remix by fellow Irish man Mano Le Tough. Speaking of… Mano Le Tough has become one of the rising stars of the international house scene in the last couple of years, and released his debut album “Changing Days” earlier this year on Permanent Vacation. Even Innervision’s Dixon and Italian Producers Tale Of Us became fans of Mano’s warm and melodic, yet driving sound and got so intrigued with the music that they both created their own anthemic versions of “Everything you ve done before” and “Primative People” that made many dancers under the sun happy.

Next to Mano it’s certainly John Talabot, who was responsible for some of the most defining moments of dance music in the past two years. Talabot’s debut album “Fin” has already become a classic and got rave reviews from the press around the globe. Not only excessive touring, both as a dj and live (including a support tour with The xx), made him one of dance music’s most in demand artist. This compilation includes two cuts from the album “So Will Be Now” and “Destiny” (in the exclusive Rave Dub Version) and the remix of “When the Past Was Present” by the mighty Pachanga Boys (the classic odd couple of Superpitcher and Rebolledo). “So Will Be Now” and “Destiny” are in collaboration with John Talabot’s partner in crime Pional, who also gave Munich’s number one disco band Band Pollyester the remix treatment (another remix of Pollyester comes from cosmic maestro Baris K., who delivered some Turkish delight) with a little Soft Cell Touch and made it a favorite of Gerd Janson, Lauer and Tensnake. Together with long time Vacationer Bostro Pesopeo, Pional also worked on their alternative vision of house music (full of emotions and melodies and always miles away from the obvious) that resulted in the “Yes” EP, from which the title track is featured here. Bostro Pesopeo was also not lazy himself and released his third solo EP this year and comes correct here with “Cheer Up”. We definitely will.

Parallel Dance Ensemble (brainchild of Robin Hannibal of Owusu & Hannibal, and New Zealand Rapper Coco Solid) opened up the door to their colorful world of hip house and bubble gum pop and we walked right in. Two of their tracks got remixed by Maxxi Soundsystem, who kept the oldschool party vibe and Maximillion Dunbar came up with a drum heavy, slow ocean house groover. Distinctively proud are Tom and Benjamin also of the fact that they could get their alltime heroes Chateau flight on board with “La Pregunta” and Darshan Jesrani (co-emperor of the Metro Area Kingdom) with one of his rare remixes. As silly fan boys of the Brontosaurs catalogue they had to fulfill their wet dreams and made most of the tracks available again on a double vinyl and digital for the first track. “Ombala Mbembo” is one of the many highlights of the short life of Brontosauarus. No Permanent Vacation compilation would be complete without a Woolfy vs. Projections track. One of the most long-living artists on the label. The El_Txef_A remix of their last single “Set Me Loose” is a good example why. Watch out for the upcoming album next year. To round things out we have the dream pairing of Tensnake and Tiger & Woods, who slice and dice “Need Your Loving” into a outta space boogie bomb. The Flute heaven by the tag team of Jacob Korn, Good Guy Mikesh and Filburt, heart-warming deep house by the Drifter, who is also founder of the Meave label together with Mano Le Tough, and unconditional vintage synth house by Swedish whizz kid Bobby Bell. The Compilation shows the diversity in taste of Permanent Vacation without being random and proves that Permanent Vacation is one of the most consisting indie labels – always trying to push boundaries in different directions from Kraut House to quirky disco.



01. Roisin Murphy – Simulation
02. Tensnake – Need Your Lovin (Tiger & Woods Remix)
03. Parallel Dance Ensemble – Shopping Cart (Maxxi Soundsystem Remix)
04. John Talabot – Destiny (Rave Dub Version)
05. Arto Mwambé – Ombala Mbembo
06. Disco Doubles featuring D’mia – Demons (Darshan Jesrani Spit-Roast Mix)
07. Wolfram – Thing Called Love feat. Haddaway (Legowelt Special Remix Dub)
08. Mano Le Tough – Everything You’ve Done Before (Dixon Remix)
09. John Talabot – When The Past Was Present (Pachanga Boys Purple Remix)
10. Pollyester – Voices (Baris K Remix)
11. Parallel Dance Ensemble – Occupied (Maxmillion Dunbar Remix)


01. Bobby Bell – Art in Veins
02. Pollyester – Voices (Pional Remix)
03. Bostro Pesopeo & Pional – Cheer Up
04. Bostro Pesopeo & Pional – Yes
05. Mano Le Tough – Primative People (Tale Of Us Remix)
06. Roisin Murphy – Simulation (Mano Le Tough Remix)
07. Jacob Mikesh Filburt – Philipp Dolphia
08. Chateau Flight – La Pregunta (Beau Dub Version)
09. Mano Le Tough – Mountains
10. The Drifter – Day And Night
11. John Talabot feat. Pional – So Will Be Now
12. Woolfy vs Projections – Set Me Loose (El_Txef_A Remix)

The compilation VariousSelected Label Works 4” (Permanent Vacation) is going to be released November 15, 2013.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung