Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Nov 13 2013 | 21:31
Image: 1584833 Forged from the depths of London, eventually finding Berlin as her
sanctuary, Perera Elsewhere summons lost souls and presage of
tomorrow in her craft. Acting on instinct rather than mathematics,
incorporating organic elements that compliment and co-exist with
robotics, carefully reserving space for her haunting yet soothing vocal
passes...these are the bricks and mortar of Perera's waking dreams.
From the grit of dark club to the absorption of indigenous sounds &
styles along her travels, Perera melds these inspirations into her own
semi-acoustic, abstract and pop-tinged bliss.
Prophetic revelations put to tape. A message in a bottle delivered
through cryptic vocals laid to a smoky atlas, guiding followers to a new
translation of the world as we know it. These are just shadows of the
sentiment that Perera Elsewhere delivers on 'Everlast', her 12-track
debut LP for Friends of Friends. Touching on topics ranging from the
corruption of organized religion, gender discrimination and
technological advancements leading to human over-dependence, her
vision couldn't be more focused. On "Giddy", she sings "You sway
unsteady with your sword// it makes you livid, muzzle round your
jaw// vivid dream that ain't got no flaws// pasting memories you can't
recall..." making way for Gonjasufi to drive the chant home with his
signature, emotive bars. On the lead single "Bizarre" she navigates the
haunting melody flawlessly with the lyrics "its been a long time by the
look of things// long time money's running everything// the same 10
families that run this show// friends with the president, friends with the
pope", signing her name in the cement of her beliefs.
Come October 28th, the world will bear witness to the sounds and
sights of Perera Elsewhere. With a feature from Gonjasufi, as well as
remixes slated from the likes of Hype Williams, Maria Minerva,
Nautiluss and Kyson, the sum of the parts equals up to a concentrated
plume of aural frankincense. We here at FoF are certainly ecstatic over
the opportunity to present our new leading lady to the universe...
"It's been a long time, so bizarre..."

1. Drunk Man
2. Giddy ft. Gonjasufi
3. Bizarre
4. Light Bulb
5. Ebora ft. Aremu
6. Dreamt That Dream
7. Shady ft. Springintgut
8. Bongoloid
9. Carousel
10. The Zap
11. Lazy
12. Dimmed Down


Key Points:
- Press support from Gorilla vs Bear, Pitchfork, Dummy Mag,
Resident Advisor, The 405, etc.
- EP remixes by Nautiluss, Hype Williams, Kyson, Maria Minerva
- Album remixes coming from Shlohmo, Tom Demac, Moiré
- Upcoming FADER mix
- Print Features in iD-Mag, Flaunt and Nylon
- Upcoming Boiler Room Berlin showcase Available from 25.10.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung