Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Nov 11 2013 | 15:31 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Purple Snow: Forecasting the Minneapolis SoundIn the late 1970s, a peculiar sound began bubbling up from the land of 10,000 lakes. Buried beneath 50 solid inches of annual snow, Minneapolis made a Sound quite different than what the pop world foresaw. It issued forth as a slick, black, technologically advanced fusion, poised to storm the charts. Never known for sizable African-American populations, the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul in fact harbored a tight-knit community of musicians working feverishly through the late ’70s and early ’80s toward a radical manipulation of American dance music, coating futuristic funk with the glamorous sheen of guitar rock. Synthetic ebony and ivory met electricity, with sexed-up results sent shockingly across the pop heavens like violet lightning.

On 4 LPs or 2 CDs, Purple Snow: Forecasting the Minneapolis Sound – the Numero Group’s breathlessly anticipated 50th mainline release – chronicles the scene’s first steps, false starts, and follow-throughs, sourcing the life’s work of known quantities and shadowy figures alike. In the beginning, there was Purple Haze, whose billing as Haze on two obscure albums left the color purple to their city’s incipient sound. Pepé Willie’s 94 East project gave local prodigy Prince Rogers Nelson an early chance to row along with the crew. From there, the story courses past Jimmy Jam Harris’ extroverted Philly throwback Mind & Matter collective, to Terry Lewis and Flyte Tyme, flamboyant precursor to Morris Day’s The Time. Unearthing basement demos by Prince’s childhood sidekick/departed bassist André Cymone, plus deep cuts from legend-about-town Alexander O’Neal, Numero 050 gathers relentlessly as the sprawling, nonfiction prequel to Purple Rain’s cultural takeover.

Surpassing 30,000 words, our hardbound, full-color book companion to Purple Snow: Forecasting the Minneapolis Sound is a gorgeous, exhaustively detailed, and insight-rich guided tour across two hours of music and adecade of North Star history. Inside, dozens of supporting characters and combos seed clouds for the meteoric rise of a genre formerly known mostly as Prince’s – not to mention unheard product from his top collaborators and fiercest competitors. In game-changing sound and image-rich splendor, Purple Snow: Forecasting the Minneapolis Sound clears a crowded stage, ushering in unsung Twin Cities future-funk talent, to bask for a spotlit moment, out of that persistent violet shadow, and to shine.


01. 94 East – If You See Me
02. Aura – Taste Of Love
03. Herman Jones – I Love You
04. Orville Shannon – Oh Lover
05. Mind & Matter – I’m Under Your Spell
06. Haze – Waiting For The Moment
07. Prophets Of Peace – Get It On
08. Cohesion – Expense
09. Mind & Matter – Sunshine Lady
10. The Lewis Connection – Higher
11. Flyte Tyme – It’s The Things That You Do
12. Herman Jones – Ladie
13. Michael A. Dixon and J.O.Y. – You’re All I Need
14. Music, Love & Funk – Stone Lover
15. Cohesion – Cohesion
16. Haze – I Do Love My Lady
17. The Lewis Connection – Got To Be Something Here
18. Walter Lewis & the Blue Stars – I Have Love at Home
19. Flyte Tyme – I’ve Got You On My Mind
20. Quiet Storm – Can You Deal With It
21. Steven – Quick
22. The Stylle Band – If You Love Me
23. The Girls – I’ve Got My Eyes On You
24. Sue Ann Carwell – Should I Or Should I Not?
25. Alexander O’Neal – Do You Dare
26. Ronnie Robbins – Contagious
27. Alexander O’Neal – Borrowed Time
28. Orville Shannon – One Life To Live
29. André Cymone – Somebody Said
30. Walter Lewis & the Blue Stars – Do It Baby Do It
31. Rockie Robbins – Together
32. Mind & Matter – No One Else Can Do It To Me Baby

The compilation VariousPurple Snow: Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound (2CD+Book)” (Numero Group) is going to be released November 15, 2013.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung