Recent posts

Chuuwee – Paradiso
Jan 22, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Oct 10 2013 | 21:30
Image: 1582129 In this album Brawl in Paradise, I am trying to make sense of the gods and devils in all of us.
Like a Katak dancer unravels a story that makes no separation between mythical greatness
and the bloody fleshiness of our bodies, or a Sufi who spins until his body and mind realize the
ethereal matter in which is part of everything. There is an atomic vibration that allows the
universe to communicate, when we organize it into music we warp the time and space of the
world around us.
It is my hope that by channeling the atomic energy that flows through me into music I can
somehow spread the universal connection of love and contribute in some humble way to the
relief of suffering, not only of humans but of our patiently observant hot, Earth. When we
dance, we tumble between a heaven and earth, which can never be separated.
To write this album I quite literally shut myself in the top of the old GDR Radio Broadcasting
center, in a tower overlooking Berlin, and began to filter through the questions and sounds that
came to me. From my windows I could see the beautiful paradise of our world, the drama of
the sky, the timeless flow of the Spree river. The beauty of our world is so moving it can be
almost overwhelming, like being in a dream state. I could feel the weight of our history as
humans in this garden of Paradise we have been given to inhabit. And I began to question
why, given this perfection to be free in, we choose to brawl in it constantly, to fight and destroy.
Maybe the weight of natural perfection, the terror of accepting it and truly connecting to the
oneness of all matter and energy is too much to bear. I can’t answer this, so I look to art for the
answers, this is what art gives me.
Brawl In Paradise is a collage of my observations and questioning of the world filtered through
some of my favorite writers, filmmakers, painters, dancers. Some of the songs are meditations,
others are incantations. I was helped immensely by Mikhail Bulgakov, George Orwell, Edward
Albee, Salman Rushdie, everything and anything written by Arundhati Roy – a thinker and
writer I hold in highest esteem, Akram Khan, Pina Bausch, Jean Renoir, Werner Herzog,
Salvador Dali, the political pundits and corporate double speak surrounding The Deepwater
Horizon Oil Spill (aka BP Oil Spill) that unfolded as I began writing this album, the story of an
ex-prostitute recovered drug addict friend of mine whose immense dignity had a deep impact
on me, as well as the story of an African poet and his two friends who overcame being
orphaned in an HIV/HepC ridden post war country to produce art that speaks to the world, and
my early years singing in the school choir in London.
This album is my attempt to raise part of the shield of imagination, to embrace, to protect and
to connect. And of course To Dance.
· Elyas Khan’s first solo album release Brawl In Paradise and accompanying Single
“Bells” are featured with a full radio and press campaign worldwide.
· Album Promotional tools include:
- EPK directed by Jonathan Rau
- 2 Album teaser videos directed by Simon Rogowski
- Press pictures by Bill Phelps, and Dirk Trageser
- Two designs of t-shirts
- 3 Additional follow-up Singles featuring Remixes, Radio Edits and non album Bonus
- “Unplugged” EP (for fan content / give-aways)

1. Transmission Room 804
2. Top Of The World
3. Brawl In Paradise
4. Lowest of The Low
5. Alien In Waiting
6. The River
7. Three Merry Boys
8. Just A Shadow
9. Bells
10. Cook The Ocean
11. What A Party
12. Dear Eliza feat. Saudia Young Available from 20.09.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung