Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Oct 10 2013 | 21:30
Image: 1584057 Donald Byrd was one of the greatest and most successful practitioners of the fusion of soul and jazz. In 1973 he released Black Byrd on Blue Note and it became the label's first million-seller. Taking their name from that album, a group of Byrd's Howard University students formed The Blackbyrds in 1974, and within a year they had delivered a top 10 pop hit. Their albums, produced by Donald Byrd and Larry Mizell's Sky High Productions, made a major impact on dance floors, urban radio waves and with black music lovers around the world. Their music has continued to be rediscovered
by new generations. They were a major influence on the 1990's Acid Jazz scene and many of their records have been sampled by a diverse array of artists including De La Soul, Gangstarr, Massive Attack and many more, including - most recently - Wiz Khalifa. Drawn from the Blackbyrds' eight albums released by Fantasy Records, this specially priced, deluxe multi-LP set Walking In Rhythm: The Essential Selection 1973-1980 presents a complete retrospective of the band's career. Included are the classic hits "Do It Fluid", "Walking In Rhythm" (#4 R&B, #6 Pop), "Flying High",
"Happy Music" (#3 R&B, #19 Pop), "Rock Creek Park", "Time Is Movin'", "Soft and Easy", "Supernatural Feeling", as well as key album cuts, rarities and extended dance floor mixes. This package also features many rarely seen photos and extended liner notes, including a newly-commissioned interview with original band members by A. Scott Galloway.

1. Do It Fluid
2. Gut Level
3. A Hot Day Today
1. I Need You
2. The Baby
3. Blackbyrds Theme
1. Future Children/Future Hope
2. Walking In Rhythm
3. Rock Creek Park
4. Happy Music
1. City Life
2. Flying High
3. One-Gun Salute
4. Wilford's Gone
5. Time Is Movin
1. Party Land
2. Enter In
3. Soft and Easy
4. Supernatural Feeling
1. Mysterious Vibes
2. What We Have Is Right
3. Love Don't Strike Twice
4. Without Your Love
5. Don't Know What To Say Available from 20.09.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung