Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Aug 08 2013 | 21:31
Image: 1581114 What leads an individual to walk the often obsessive path of the crate digger? Raiding filthy basements and
accumulating back-breaking stacks of wax on a tantalising search for the unearthed groove, Kon cites early
exposure as the source of his calling: "One of the first physical records I fell in love with was Electric Light
Orchestra's El Dorado. The music on that LP is incredible, climatic strings, and full of amazing songwriting.
To digest and absorb music with such depth is the best thing for a 4 year old. Get 'em going young! I know
this is part of the reason why later in life I searched further than what was just on the radio."
Kon's father was a drummer, and his love of the break not only inspired the quest for the funkiest rarities
that birthed the iconic On Track and Off Track compilations, but also informed his approach to the edit.
Check the 'Nite Time Remix' of 'Hooked' as the perfect introduction to his style: breaking things down to the
bare essentials, the rhythm section takes on a life of its own in what has fast become the definitive version
of an already classic disco workout. Kon's output has given new life to this art form, and on the road to
mastery he studied the golden touch of editing and remix masters Walter Gibbons and BBE label-mate John
The natural next step for this beat-juggling heavyweight was a return to the crafting of his own original
productions. Bringing together a close-knit team of musician friends, Kon has revived a longstanding
partnership with BBE and recorded his debut album titled On My Way. Kon's first productions were
committed to tape in the early 90s when he a formed a rap group called Mikst Nutz. Their demo was given
heavy rotation by DJs Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito, and, in 1992, Jive Records came close to signing the
We are also treated to the unmistakeable vocals of UK talent Ben Westbeech, who Kon first met at the
Southport Weekender. “I was with Amir leaving to catch the car service back to our hotel when I heard a guy
yelling our names. Turns out it was Ben, and I had no idea he knew about our On Track compilations. And
in turn he seemed to be shocked that I knew who he was! I've always liked Ben's work and I was staying in
London with him when we first cut this tune. It was originally recorded to a totally different track that was all
The musical arrangement of On My Way reflects a deep understanding of dance floor dynamics, and Kon
honed his craft as a DJ playing at house parties in the 80s, coming from a party rock background where all
styles were thrown into the mix. He remembers looking up to Boston radio jocks like DJ Jesse McGee and
DJ T-Clark, while records like Cash Money & Marvellous' Ugly People Be Quiet influenced his technical
craft: “They contained scratches that were ahead of their time. I really didn't have any mentors, except for
these records and the mixes those guys would do on the radio.”
Kon's love for wax is for life, but he has little time for those passing judgement on a selector's format of
choice: “It’s a DJ’s skill set and taste that matters. Music is meant to be shared and spread to as many as
possible. Who cares what medium I choose to play my music from? We are messengers, period. Nobody
owns the sounds that are blasting out of the speakers except the actual musicians. You may own the little
piece of plastic it’s recorded onto, but that’s it. Fools need to stop trippin’. I’m not caught up in the hype. I
still buy vinyl and I know it’s the coolest medium to store music on. Nothing can beat it. The feel, the smell,
the labels and so on, but I can’t take vinyl with me when I die. Now the sounds that have fed and nourished
my soul, I take with me everywhere I go. I can take them with me to the grave, or where ever I end up when
my physical shell can no longer take it. The music itself is staying with me forever.”
In On My Way, a rich cultural heritage has been distilled into an upfront album of burning dance floor action,
showing us why the BBE-crowned 'King of Digging' has for so long remained a formidable, worldwide
musical icon.

· Kon is a renowed crate digger familiar to many having co compiled Kings of Diggin and
numerous mix albums with his previous partner Amir.
· Kon’s debut artist album features guest appearances from Amy Douglas, Georg Levin, Ben
Westbeech & Induce.
· Full press and radio campaign in UK , France , Germany
· Kon’s edit of Cerrone’s – “Hooked on You” premiered on the now defunct BBC Radio 1 Gilles
Peterson Worldwide show.
· there will be a very limited number of coloured double-vinyls with a download code for the album

Twitter @KON1200

Tracklisting CD
1. All Night (Everybody) feat. Amy Douglas
2. She Was A Queen
3. Day Dream
4. Don't Cha Wanna feat. Georg Levin
5. Awe Baby
6. 808 State
7. You Don’t Know ( I’ve Been Looking For You ) feat. Ben Westbeech
8. Love Shine feat. Induce
9. Yeah Yeah
10. Blow Me... A Kiss feat. Amy Douglas
11. On My Way Available from 19.07.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung