Thursday, Aug 01 2013 | 15:30
Image: 1582401 Now on vinyl! Kool Keith’s critically acclaimed solo album Love & Danger produced by Dj Junkaz Lou and featuring Def Squad brainiac MC Keith Murray, and NYC’s groundbreaking combo Megabone.

An original member of New York’s new-school pioneers the Ultramagnetic MCs, Keith Thornton is best known as a solo rapper. His signature styles stream-of-consciousness lyrical flow and complex vocals, two skills that earn him a perennial nod from the underground hip-hop community. The average Kool Keith album is peppered with bizarre, disjointed, even delusional or disassociated themes, concepts, and references. Nearly all of his albums incorporate a satirical dislike for more commercialized strains of hip-hop, as well as major record label scams.
After single-handedly redefining “warped” as the mind and mouth behind the Bronx-based Ultramagnetic MC’s, “Kool” Keith Thornton -- aka Rhythm X, aka Dr. Octagon, aka Dr. Dooom, aka Mr. Gerbik -- headed for the outer reaches of the stratosphere with a variety of solo projects. A onetime psychiatric patient at Bellevue, Keith’s lyrical thematics remained as free-flowing here as they ever were with the N.Y. trio, connecting up complex meters with fierce, layers-deep metaphors and veiled criticisms of those who “water down the sound that comes from the ghetto.” His own debut single, “Earth People” by Dr. Octagon, was quietly released in late 1995 on the San Francisco-based Bulk Recordings, and the track spread like wildfire through the hip-hop underground, as did the subsequent self-titled full-length released the following year.
Since then, Kool Keith has dropped numerous critically acclaimed and lyrically genius records. Tashan Dorrsett, another concept- driven release from Keith, was released in 2009. Following early 2011 is the “Legend Of Tashan Dorrsett” remix album including remixes and exclusives by Hip-Hop legends Marley Marl, Domingo, Ultrmagnetic’s TR Love, Agallah Don Bishop to name a few. Early 2012, Keith released the single “Anorexic” (labeled as a Ultramagnetic track) and flooded the internet with the hit records New York and The Game Is Free.

1. The Dangerous Liaisons / Intro
2. You Love That
3. Cow-Boy Howdy
Feat Mr. Sche aka Big Sche Eastwood
4. New York
5. Vacation Spot
6. Supremacy
7. Impressions Feat Keith Murray
8. The Game Is Free Feat. Megabone
9. Who’s The Man
10. Pull Your Hat Down
11. Extra Thoughts Feat The I.M.O
12. Something Special
13. I Never Hurt You
14. Lovin’ Me
Feat Mr. Sche aka Big Sche Eastwood
15. Goodbye Rap Available from 12.07.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung