Recent posts

Chuuwee – Paradiso
Jan 22, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jul 25 2013 | 09:30
Image: 1582510 Sound The Alarm is a celebration of the past, present and future of R&B .... with flares of hip-hop bravado ... as the Hammond B3 organ master lays down his distinctive grooves amid a succession of sparkling collaborations with some of today's most gifted R&B talents, including Mayer Hawthorne, Anthony Hamilton, Vintage Trouble, Estelle, Gary Clark Jr., Luke James & more.

Sound The Alarm follows back-to-back GRAM MY wins for Booker's previous two albums, and marks his return to the legendary Stax Records.

Booker T Jones: The LEGENDARY B3 organ master who set the cast for modern soul music and is responsible for its rise and enduring popularity. He is a ROCK 'N' ROLL HALL OF FAME & MUSICIANS HALL OF FAME inductee ... plus a 4-TIME GRAMMY AWARD IIVINNER and GRAMMY LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD recipient

His latest album features collaborations with some of today's leading R&B/Soul artists, including MAYER HAWTHORNE, ANTHONY HAMILTON, ESTELLE and more.

Creatively, Sound The Alarm is a bold new step for Booker, in a career that has witnessed a striking resurgence in recent years

Booker T's last two albums BOTH were GRAMMY AWARD IIVINNERS, 2010's Potato Hole, his head-turning collaboration with THE DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS, and 2012's The Road From Memphis, his critically acclaimed album with THE ROOTS

Sound The Alarm marks Booker T's historic return to STAX RECORDS, the Memphis Soul label the instrumentalist, bandleader, producer and songwriter helped put on the map during the 1960s, along with his brilliant band, The MGs

Booker T wrote or co-wrote all 12 songs on this album, and co-produced with Bobby Ross and lssiah ''IZ'' Avila, who have worked with USHER and MARY J. BLIGE

Booker has written and/or played on some of the most enduring songs of all-time, including ''Green Onions,'' ''Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay,'' and ''Born Under A Bad Sign''

Track Listings:

01 . Sound The Alarm feat. MAYER HAWTHORNE
02. All Over The Place feat. LUKE JAMES
03. Fun
04. Broken Heart feat. JAY JAMES
05. Feel Good
06. Gently feat. ANTHONY HAMILTON
07. Austin City Blues feat. GARY CLARK JR.
08. Can't Wait feat. ESTELLE
09. '66 Impala feat. PONCHO SANCHEZ and SHEILA E.
10. Watch You Sleeping feat. KORI WITHERS
11. Your Love Is No Love feat. VINTAGE TROUBLE
12. Father Son Blues feat. TED JONES Available from 05.07.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung