Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jun 07 2013 | 21:31
Image: 1580293 ‘The Bridge Between Life & Death’ is the second album from Barcelona- (via Bristol) based producer Zoon van snooK. Recorded partly in Iceland, partly in Bristol, the album features 11 tracks of fragile electronica, found sounds, field recordings and collaborations with Icelandic artists Amiina, Benni Hemm Hemm and Sin Fang.
Fuelled by exposure to the likes of Björk, Sigur Rós and múm, ‘The Bridge Between Life & Death’ is the result of a long-standing fascination with Iceland, a fascination that finally led the producer to make the pilgrimage to Europe’s rocky outpost armed with his sound recorder.
The resulting album perfectly captures the otherworldly nature of the island, its beautiful yet forbidding landscape laid down in the delicate, crystalline melodies, ancient and modern coming together as van snooK pieced together what would become ‘The Bridge Between Life & Death’.

Having worked as a keyboard player for numerous bands in Bristol, UK, 2008 saw ZvS taking bold measures in stepping out alone. Following the debut hour-long mix for Ninja Tune's inimitable Solid Steel radio show in 2009, the debut LP '(Falling from) The Nutty Tree' was released on legendary LA label Mush Records in December 2010. This spawned the first live shows, with a week-long European tour followed by two hotly received showcases at NXNE in Toronto, Canada.
Tour supports have included Daedelus, Gold Panda, Fujiya & Miyagi, Nosaj Thing... On returning from Europe, the debut live session for BBC6 Music's Tom Robinson was aired and shortly after, the release of remix LP '(Remixes from) The Nutty Tree' which included among others, the venerable: Tunng, Daedelus, Yppah, Grasscut and Zoon's musical muse Cian Ciaran of Super Furry Animals (Kirkland): Remix duty has included James Yorkston, Diagrams, Fujiya & Miyagi, Darwin Deez, Benni Hemm Hemm, The Pictish Trail... Expect more live shows and lots of beautiful music from ZvS in 2013.

01. From the Cradle (Intro) / Lekitítimi
02. Snorri's Saga
03. Björn of the Mendips
04. Inclementine
05. The Verge of Winter
06. Thúfur Thoroughfare feat. Benni Hemm Hemm
07. The Potter's Garden feat.Amiina
08. Magret the Outlaw
09. Lyre! Lyre!!
10. Tjörnin Side
11. The Gaits feat. Sin Fang Available from 07.06.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung