Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, May 16 2013 | 18:30
Image: 1579369 "The best club music catches you off guard and by surprise. For me, there is no
tested formula or any given rules that make a track work on the dancefloor. Be it an
infectious bassline, an uplifting and sensous chorus or just a mesmerizing beat -
most of the time the tunes that get people really going at clubs are all based on
misunderstandings." – Alex Barck

When Sonar Kollektiv co-founder and Jazzanova member Alex Barck started the Based
On Misunderstandings series five years ago, the aim was to illustrate the diversity of
tracks he plays in his infamous DJ sets all around the world. A loose collection of songs
he collects while travelling the world and meeting likeminded producers and DJs.
After six outstanding and genre-breaking releases (including contributions by Mark E,
Paskal & Urban Absolutes, Hannes Fischer, Soulphiction, Eva Be, Phil Gerus, Lars
Bartkuhn and Roland Appel), a digital download compilation in 2009 and a regular
clubnight by the same name at the prestigious Watergate club in Berlin, it's now time
for a proper showcase compilation of this fully fledged sublabel of Sonar Kollektiv!
By and large, the compilation is a personal journal of Barck's exclusive trips and
stopovers at the most happening clubs and festivals all around the globe. When he
played in Toulouse last year he met local visual artist and producer Vect who handed him a
CD with "Soulful" on it. A sample heavy, chopped up piece of finest chillwave Barck has
been playing out ever since. In Hongkong he encountered the mysterious duo The Horses,
who he asked to remix one of his own new productions, "We Get High". We meet old and
new aquaintances troughout this adventerous journey: Christian Prommer (of Drum
Lesson and Prommer & Barck fame) shovels in a banger of a non-nonsense house track
("You Belong To Me"). And the new kid on the block, Berlin-based Hannes Fischer, is
featured with two tracks (both released in early february on the sixth Based On
Misunderstandings 12inch) and an astonishing remix for White Lamp's "Make It Good". All
of the contributions by this young and fresh talent direct toward a new definition of deep
house and beyond. EnaWadan from South Africa champions two own tracks as well.
"Reborn" gets a special enforced treatment by Sandro Bianchi & be.lanuit. "Inner Joys Of
Life" sees Paskal & Urban Absolutes take charge by adding their distinctive production
flavour to the mix. Barck himself steps in the game with one new original track, "We Get
High" (yes, including vocal samples from Michael Franks) and an absolutely crazy remix
for the long forgotten and obscure band from still-divided Berlin, Spinning Motion (originally
released in 1980 on their album "Confidence In The Future" which will be reissued in 2013,
watch out for that!). To round off this marvelous showcase we additionally get offerings
by newcomers Pattern Select, Lovejet and Moscow-based wunderkind Phil Gerus.
In the end, almost none of the tunes here have anything in common. Just the fact that
they all please Alex Barck's ears. Ears you can trust!

· compiled by Sonar Kollektiv A&R & Jazzanova Member Alex Barck
· established 12inch series / club night at Watergate
· incl. tracks by: Christian Prommer, Hannes Fischer, VECT, Paskal & Urban
Absolutes, Phil Gerus, Alex Barck and more

01. VECT – Soulful
02. Pattern Select – Behind The Curtain
03. The White Lamp – Make It Good (Hannes Fischer Remix)
04. Christian Prommer – You Belong To Me
05. Hannes Fischer – Mystic Mountain
06. EnaWadan – Inner Joys Of Life (Paskal & Urban Absolutes Remix)
07. Lovejet – Milk
08. Alex Barck & Jonatan Bäckelie – We Get High (The Horses Vocal Mix)
09. Hannes Fischer – Deep Field
10. EnaWadan - Reborn (sandrobianchi & be.lanuit Remix)
11. Spinning Motion – Playground Of Burial Funds (Alex Barck Remix)
12. Phil Gerus – Voitre Voix, Vos Mains, Vos Levres Available from 26.04.2013
Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung