Monday, Feb 04 2013 | 11:48

Mike DehnertIn just a few years years, Berlin based techno producer, DJ and live performer Mike Dehnert has gone from unknown talent to underground hero with (as revered record store Hardwax calls it) his very own ‘raw techno’ sound making waves on labels like his own imprint Fachwerk Records, hallowed Dutch outlet Clone Basement Series, as well as dub techno stable Echochord Colour, super reticent outlet MD2, Delsin and Deeply Rooted House.

Mike Dehnert his first proper album on Delsin Records. Framework – as you’d expect of a man who performs genuinely live for hours, often only ever calling on his own tweaked, edited and skewed productions – is an uncompromising album made up of pure techno tracks of the sort you’d expect to hear on the dancefloors of places like Berghain or Tresor. They go from pulsing and classic sounding to skipping and glitchy, through greyed-out and sandy via swinging and syncopated but always with a sense of restraint and control whether they are abstract, apocalyptic, atmospheric or whatever else. Drawing from a dusty, dirty toolbox of sounds, the echo-y, cavernous chambers and dusky warehouse aesthetics of Dehnert’s moody music betrays the purity and simplicity of his arrangements. Although his records are undeniably functional, at the same time, they are neither nondescript nor forgettable: somehow, through masterful sound designs and an accomplished knack for blending real tension and atmosphere with his obvious Basic Channel and Berghain influences, Mike Dehnert manages to lock you into whatever mood takes his fancy with apparent ease. Make no bones about it (he doesn’t) Framework is an album of tracks. Each one is made with various dancefloors in mind, and each is informed by the hundreds of hours Dehnert has spent working away in such places. The results are to-the-point without being unsubtle, each track has a job to do and does so efficiently; nothing is surplus to requirements and nothing is lacking. Whilst outlining a Framework for his many live sets to come, this debut album also makes for engaging listening and confirms Mike Dehnert to be one of contemporary techno’s most exciting current incumbents.

Photo © by Marie Staggat

Mike Dehnert Top 10 February 2013:

01. Limo – Boot Break EP (Mike Dehnert) (Fachwerk Records)
02. Redshape – Square (Running Back)
03. Mike Dehnert – Placide EP (Fachwerk Records)
04. Seph – Am 02 (Aula Magna Records)
05. Dimi Angelis & Jeroen Search – A&S 004 (A&S Records)
06. Ike Release – Chasing Quasars EP (Machining Dreams)
07. Trevino – Forged (Klockworks)
08. Pépé Bradock – Imbroglios 3/4 (Atavisme)
09. Madteo – Dead Drop (When I Saw You That Nite) (Sähkö Recordings)
10. Wax – 50005 B (Wax)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung