Tuesday, Jan 29 2013 | 12:32

AgaricPatrik Skoog may be better known as Agaric these days, but his elongated discography pre-dates the moniker by almost a decade. Starting out as early as 15, and releasing his first record just a few years later (together with Aon FluX and Henrik Larsson as Headroom), Patrik isn’t only one of Sweden’s youngest house and techno producers to earn the title of veteran, he’s probably the most deserving with over 100 discursive vinyl releases stacked in his favour.

Over the course of the late 90s and first half the millennium, Headroom and Patrik’s solo careers progressed in tandem, chalking up significant releases for labels like Synewave NY, Drumcode, and Planet Rhythm along the way. After eight years roaming techno’s harder perimeters, in 2005 he embarked on deeper minimal and house trajectories as Agaric, launching the We Are umbrella to house them all. More family than roster, and more collective than record label, We Are has since blossomed into an eclectic club-oriented stable, with the introduction of the 10″ coloured vinyl series drawing a rich spread of artists such as Shonky, Fonos, Walker Barnard, Mikael Stavöstrand and Kreon & Lemos into its burgeoning fold. Outside of We Are, Agaric tracks have landed on the likes of Kontra-Musik, Raum…musik and liebe*detail in the run up to his long-awaited debut album, “Who Made Up The Rules”, released in 2011 through Ovum.

Looking ahead 2013 sees Patrik come full circle, reverting back to his own name to probe anew the classic techno avenues that first inspired it all. As flexible a DJ and performer as he is producer, Patrik’s technical skill and flare are second to none, and have been refined over as many years. He’s developed an enviable booth-side sensitivity that has mastered floors of all types, worldwide. But whether it’s playing live with We Are member Walker Barnard to entertaining Circo Loco revellers at the infamous DC-10, or even some sweaty Berlin-style afterhour, one thing’s certain – you’re going to be dancing.


Agaric Top 10 January 2013:

01. Low Jack – Free Pyjamas Ep (Delsin)
02. Sean Deason & Rob Belleville – Rebound EP (aDepth audio)
03. Mekas – Salvador EP (Woods N Bass)
04. Simon Ferdinand – Don’t Believe Ep (Night Drive Music)
05. DJ Qu – Infect (Strength Music Recordings)
06. Ricardo Esposito – Airblade (BTAIM)
07. Various – Thermopyles (Rue de Plaisance)
08. Limo – Coffee Pod (We Are)
09. Och / The Model – Elite Conversationalists Edition (Autoreply)
10. Korova – Hashima (Mike Parker remix) (Raw Waxes)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung