Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Jun 29 2012 | 18:28 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Overproof SoundsystemOverproof Sound System started its life in 2000 as a monthly reggae night called “Overproof” held at the Medicine bar in Birmingham, England. The night was started by Different Drummer’s Richard Wittingham (Rockers Hi Fi) Adam Regan (Leftfoot) and Birmingham’s dub duo G.Corp. Since the seventies, reggae music in Birmingham had become ghettoized, pushed out of city venues into illegal parties and split into genres. With violence on the increase it was only the brave that would get to hear it. The “Overproof” night was not only a way for those involved to escape the recording studio and party but a way of bringing reggae back to the masses. This was not a bashment or revives night. Not to be tied down to one genre the music policy was anything reggae or reggae influenced. From old school sixty’s cuts to modern Dub and remix’s. With its atmosphere of peace and good vibes and a reputation for a happy mixed crowd the night soon grew often bringing together 1500 regulars for what have now become legendary parties. From the start, the microphone and DJ’ing duties were shared by Ras-T-Weed (Rockers Hi Fi) and Juggla (Creation sound) over time percussion was added in the form of The Mighty Magoo (Substance). Messenger Douglas later joined Overproof in 2003, and has been part of Overproof ever since.

In 2001 a European promoter attended the club and so impressed with the good spirit and almost tribal quality of the party he invited Overproof over to Europe, thus giving birth to the “Overproof Sound System”. The sound system has been touring constantly now since 2001 and has become a solid core of five people Messenger Douglas, Juggla, Mighty Magoo, Stallion (G.Corp.) and Jah Grizzly (G.Corp.).

Overproof have played along side most of there reggae heroes over the last 10 years, recording their own music project, at the start of 2002, the now legendary “Watch What You Put Inna” EP, a track which went on to be, and still is a club anthem around the world. 2003 saw Overproof take a break from touring and encamp in the “Elephant House”, the celebrated headquarters of Birmingham’s Dub meisters G.Corp. Under the production eye of G.Corp, Overproof’s first album “Nothing To Proove” was written and recorded. The album reflects the true spirit of both the original club night and the sound systems live presence. Musical styles swing joyfully from the studio one’ish “Get With It” through the blissful roots of “The Plea” to the cheeky dance hall anthem “Long Time”. Kenijah Boothe son of reggae legend Ken Boothe takes on guest vocals on the track “Live It Up Right”.

In order to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the original club night Overproof have once again returned to the Elephant House to record their second album “Pull It Up” – the album includes vocals from the main crew messenger Douglas and Juggla and a guest appearance from one of the originals Ras Tweed. One of the tracks, an acoustic version of “War Must Cease” includes a unique appearance by the ‘Myspace Choir’. People from all over the world were invited to add their harmonies to what has ended up as a beautiful protest against the act of war. As with the first album this is a collection of styles bound together by a strong reggae influence, catchy melodies, heavy bass lines and conscious lyrics.


01. Intro
02. Jump Up
03. Fire
04. Youth Culture
05. The Shield
06. Tarantula
07. Summer Sounds-Summertime
08. Reality String
09. War Must Cease
10. Dub Afrika
11. Commander & Chief
12. Roots & Reality
13. Give I Strength
14. Unity
15. King Step
16. Mama
17. No Matter
18. Roots End

The album Overproof SoundsystemPull It Up” (Collision – Cause Of Chapter 3) is going to be released July 6, 2012.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung