Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Oct 25 2011 | 19:13 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Gregory Isaacs was one of reggae’s most distinctive voices and an iconic presence until his untimely death in 2010. In his prime he was dubbed ‘the Ruler’ and was known as the king of lover’s rock reggae. His smooth approach was consistent on love ballads and songs of social and political import. Always genuine and personal in his songwriting and presentation he was renowned for his art in all corners of the music world.

Gregory Isaacs is celebrated in “The Ruler” a hits package chronicling many hits from 1972 to 1990.

40-track deluxe package with comprehensive linernotes and unseen photos! The latest in the Reggae Anthology series has the honour to celebrate Gregory Isaacs who was one of reggae’s most distinctive voices and an iconic presence until his untimely death in 2010! The DVD has the historic concert ‘Live at the Brixton Academy 1984’.



01. My Only Lover
02. Do You Ever
03. All I Have
04. Lonely
05. Love Is Overdue
06. Never Be Ungrateful
07. Ba Da
08. The Sun Shines For Me
09. Set The Captives Free
10. My Religion
11. Philistines
12. My Number One
13. Tumbling Tears
14. Special Guest
15. Border
16. Storm
17. Mr. Cop
18. Sister Love
19. My Time
20. Slave Master


01. Let’s Dance
02. John Public
03. Soon Forward
04. Tune In
05. Top Ten
06. Permanent Lover
07. Front Door
08. If I Don’t Have You
09. Night Nurse
10. Private Secretary
11. Let Off Sup’m
12. Private Beach Party
13. Victim
14. One Man Against The World
15. Rumors
16. Red Rose For Gregory
17. Big All Around
18. Jealousy
19. My Native Woman
20. Too Good To Be True


Live at the Brixton Academy 1984
Historic concert taken from an old VHS cassette but the brilliance of the performer and the vibes of the Brixton crowd shines through!
Duration 55:41 minutes
01. Number One
02. Out Deh
03. Tune In
04. Top Ten
05. Private Secretary
06. My Only Lover
07. All I Have Is Love
08. Love Is Overdue
09. Cool Down The Pace
10. Mr. Brown
11. Storm
12. Slave Master
13. Soon Forward
14. Sunday Morning
15. Night Nurse
16. Front Door
17. Border

The compilation Gregory IsaacsThe Ruler (1972-1990) – Reggae Anthology” (17 North Parade) is going to be released October 28, 2011.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung