Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Love Machine
Feb 19, 2018
Feb 19, 2018
Florian Kupfer
Feb 19, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Oct 25 2011 | 18:43 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Statik Selektah is an established producer, DJ & radio personality from Lawrence, MA, now residing in Brooklyn, NY. Statik has released three producer albums: 100 Proof (2010), Stick 2 The Script (2008), and Spell My Name Right (2007). He has also released collaborative albums with Termanology (2010) and Saigon (2009). Statik Selektah has done digital-only EPs as part of his 24 Hour Album Recording Series with Freddie Gibbs (2011) & Freeway (2011).

Statik Selektah is now readying his 4th producer album entitled Population Control on Showoff / Duck Down Music. The 18-track album, entirely produced by Statik, features original songs from Mac Miller, Talib Kweli, Bun B, Chris Webby, Pill, Dom Kennedy, LeCrae, Joell Ortiz, Freddie Gibbs, Brother Ali, Colin Munroe, Sean Price, Styles P, Lil Fame of M.O.P., Reks, Action Bronson, Chace Infinite, Slaine, JFK, Strong Arm Steady, Jon Connor, XV, The Kid Daytona, Termanology, Josh Xantus, Saigon, Jared Evan, Kali, Gameboi, Skyzoo, Chuuwee, Tayyib Ali, Push! Montana, LEP Bogus Boys, Ea$y Money, Nitty Scott MC, Rapsody, Smoke DZA, STS, Dosage, Scram Jones & DJ Babu.

Statik blended a mix of exciting new talent with well respected veteran artists & issued a call for Population Control. He explains the title by saying “every person I meet is a rapper, Dj, or makes beats. This is my way of saying who is legit from the new generation and I added a few of the OGs that still care about our music. This is a different sound from my previous albums. It’s fresh and younger, but still very raw. I’m excited to show the older rap heads how dope some of the new guys are, as well as show some of the kids following the new guys how the OGs get down.”


01. Pop Control feat. Sean Price & Termanology
02. Play The Game feat. Big K.R.I.T. & Freddie Gibbs
03. Groupie Love feat. Mac Miller & Josh Xantus
04. Never A Dull Moment feat. Action Bronson, Termanology, & Bun B
05. You’re Gone feat. Talib Kweli, Colin Munroe, & Lil Fame of M.O.P.
06. Damn Right feat. Joell Ortiz & Brother Ali
07. They Don’t Know feat. Pill & Reks
08. Let’s Build feat. Chace Infinite of Self Scientifik, JFK, & Slaine
09. Smoke Up feat. Dom Kennedy & Strong Arm Steady
10. Samuel L Jackson feat. XV, Jon Connor, & The Kid Daytona
11. New York, New York feat. Styles P, Saigon & Jared Evan
12. The High Life feat. Kali, GameBoi, & Chris Webby
13. Half-Moon Part feat. Skyzoo, Chuuwee, & Tayyib Ali
14. Keep Us Down feat. Push! Montana, LEP Bogus Boys, & Ea$y Money
15. Black Swan feat. Nitty Scott MC & Rapsody
16. Harlem Nights feat. Smoke Dza
17. Gold in 3D feat. STS & Dosage
18. Live & Let Live feat. Lecrae
19. A DJ Saved My Life feat. Scram Jones & DJ Babu
20. My Friends (Secret Bonus Track)

The album Statik SelektahPopulation Control” (Duck Down / Showoff) has been released October 21, 2011.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung