Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Magazine·Record of the Week

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Aug 23 2011 | 15:09 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Now-Again Records is proud to present “Back From The Brink”, the only legitimately licensed collection of the godfather of Iranian psychedelic rock, Kourosh Yaghmaei. Known within the Iranian diaspora simply by his first name, Kourosh’s recordings were thought lost after Islamic fundamentalists took control of Iran. They weren’t: Kourosh had protected them – along with key ephemera from the 70’s. Their collection here – spread over two CDs, a 3-LP and a 4×7″ box set – bolstered by Kourosh’s first person recollections of Iran’s 70s rock scene and its death after the revolution, tells the story of an immensely talented artist’s desire to persevere in the face of terrible adversity.

Kourosh Yaghmaei and his brothers Kamran and Kambiz were amongst the few inspired Iranian musicians determined to change Tehran’s musical landscape in the late 60’s and early 70’s. The trio, armed with rented, second-hand instruments and records by The Ventures, The Kinks, The Doors, merged Western garage rock, psychedelia and Iranian folkloric music to create a sound unlike anything that came before them. Later, inspired by the unlikely duo of Elton John and James Taylor, Kourosh’s music took a sophisticated turn, and he churned out funky, progressive rock that is as imminently enjoyable as it is impossible to categorize.

His star on the rise was knocked off course by the revolution, and its backdrop of Islamic fundamentalists burning record companies and harassing musicians. But while most pre-revolution musicians – including his brothers – fled Iran in 1979, Kourosh stayed, loyal to the country of his birth. He has suffered a performance and recording ban for twenty-two out of the last thirty-two years. Yet he remains stoic and resolved to continue bolstering Iranian musical tradition.

Kourosh still lives in Tehran and is pleased that his story – and his glorious 70s recordings – will finally spread the world over. This essential piece of Iran’s musical history is also accompanied by a full coulor, 52 page hardbound book and contains never-before-seen photos and ephemera.



01. Gole Yakh
02. Dar Enteha
03. Hajme Khali
04. Paiz
05. Leila
06. Del Dareh Pir Misheh
07. Akhm Nakon
08. Shirin Joon
09. Ghazal
10. Tavalode Yek Seda
11. Saghe
12. Entezar
13. Niyayesh
14. Saraabe Toe
15. Reyhan
16. Baroona


01. Mosafere Shar Baran
02. Khaar
03. Havar Havar
04. Ashiooneh
05. Bachehaye Khoobe Koocheh
06. Akhtare Asemanha
07. Tak Derakht
08. Share Cheshmat
09. Dokhtare Delkhasteye Shahr
10. Daas
11. Ghahr
12. Aabere Shab
13. Kei Toe Miayee

The album KouroshBack From The Brink” (Now Again) has been released August 19, 2011.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung