Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Wednesday, Jul 13 2011 | 17:53 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Re-issue of the Augustus Pablo classic album debut from 1973 with extended linernotes, re-mastered and expanded with the CD bonus tracks “Java” and “Guiding Red” plus the previous unreleased “Marabi” (version to Dennis Brown “Cheater”). “This Is …” was recorded at Randy’s studio, mixed by Errol Thompson, and produced and arranged by Clive Chin & Augustus Pablo.

Augustus Pablo is remembered as one of Jamaica’s most original instrumentalists and record producers. His innovations in bringing the melodica to reggae and the groundbreaking productions which followed place the keyboard player’s legend among the inventors of ‘dub’ reggae.

“This Is Augustus Pablo” from 1973 is the most famous collaboration between Pablo and producer Clive Chin and garnered the reggae classic “Dub Organizer”. The two had a hit before with the track “Java” which launched the melodica sound and became a major hit in 1972. That track and two others from the period are added bonuses here.

A masterpiece of early reggae and instrumental dub introducing the sound of the melodica!


01. Dub Organizer
02. Please Sunrise
03. Point Blank
04. Arabian Rock
05. Pretty Baby
06. Pablo In Dub
07. Skateland Rock
08. Dread Eye
09. Too Late
10. Assignment No. 1
11. Jah Rock
12. Lover’s Mood
13. Java
14. Guiding Red
15. Marabi

The album Augustus PabloThis Is Augustus Pablo (Expanded)” (17 North Parade) is going to be released July 29, 2011.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung