Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips

Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Mar 24 2011 | 15:43 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

The electronic scene can be a fickle mistress. Whilst some artists find global notoriety others languish in dejected obscurity. This is especially true of early pioneers of electronics. Most minds immediately think Kraftwerk, and there’s no harm in that. Others might think Bowie, Tangerine Dream, Vangelis or later groups like Gary Numan of the Human League. Some may snub this alignment and think that electronic music found its place in Sci-Fi movies and gained greater ground with the works of John Carpenter or Goblin. The argument could go on for a while! Few people look back to disco for the building blocks of electronic music, bar some house and techno producers. Yet, in the vast vaults of disco there are some true electronic front-runners. One such unknown hero of the electronic movement is Sauveur Mallia.

Mallia released under his own name, as well as Spatial & Co. He was part of forward looking groups such as the acclaimed Arpadys and Voyage, whose hits included “I Love You Dancer”. His sound spanned a variety of genres, from synthesizer music, disco, cosmic disco, to all out electronic experimentation. His output can only be described as impressive, releasing from the mid 70s to the late 80s. One label that has realised the forgotten abilities of Mallia is Electunes. In 2008 the Austrian imprint proudly brought together a number of the French man’s tracks on “Spatial Disco”. After that success “Spatial Disco Vol. 2” is out and the the compilation focuses on Mallia’s productions on the infamous Tele Music label between 1981 and 1984, a short period of time but a prolific one for Mallia. All the tracks are from five albums, Cosmosynthetic Vol. 1, Cosmosynthetic Vol. 2, Percussions Modernes 1, Automation and Automation 2.

“Spatial Disco” is not disco as we know it. Mallia did throw his hat into the disco arena, and made some great tracks. But “Spatial Disco” is an electronic abstraction that does not adhere to the catchy mirror-ball, it focuses on the potential of the synthesizer. Mallia explores cosmic sounds, he peers into the soundtrack genre all whilst paving the way with some unheard music. These tracks are as fresh today as they were when they were released, mainly because very few travelled down this line of analogue experimentation with such a musical ear. Global and personal influences captured on a synthesizer and a drum machine with a willingness to test the waters of possibility, is one way to describe Mallia; an underrated talent may be another. The only way to decide is to experience the pioneering sounds of “Spatial Disco”.

Artwork by the Berlin based artist Remy Mouton!


01. Robot Avenue
02. Baby Robot
03. Blue Lazer
04. Synthetic Neutron
05. Double Micron
06. Cosmos Nickel
07. Uranium Astral
08. Synthetic Geometry
09. Cosmos Angle
10. Rectangle Astral
11. Double Polygone
12. Point Quartz
13. Video Synthebass
14. Synthetic Suspense
15. New Wave Sequence
16. ElectronicAfrica
17. Interlude Vision
18. Special Escapade
19. Smurfissimo
20. Macadam Locomotion

The compilation VariousSpatial Disco Vol.2” (Electunes) is going to be released April 1, 2011.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung