Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jan 27 2011 | 15:26 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

“Cookie Dough” is the new album from Wildcookie, aka Freddie Cruger and Anthony Mills. Since his last release on Tru Thoughts in 2006 Freddie Cruger, aka Red Astaire, has been busy travelling the world as a DJ and releasing music on his own label, Homegrown Records – one of these releases was the debut, and now extremely rare, Wildcookie 12″. The “Drugs EP” received support from Gilles Peterson on BBC Radio 1 and the lead track, “Heroine”, also features on “Cookie Dough”. Wildcookie is not a one man band though; each one of Freddie’s ultra-crisp productions and sophisticated synthline melodies are backed with the pitch perfect, often freestyled, vocals of Anthony Mills.

Anthony Mills has toured extensively with Harry Belafonte’s All-Star Band, recorded with KRS-One, Amy Winehouse, Leela James, Maxi Priest, Snow, Sizzla, Dead Prez, Doc (Esthero), Sly Dunbar, Chinna Smith and Grace Bumbry. Mills has written over 1000 songs in this time and recorded well over 100 studio and live albums, providing lead vocals for two other duos – Super Viral Brothers (Pope/Universal) and XXLARGEMILLS.

Every track on the album was selected by Cruger and Mills for its particular mood; based on flow, variety and content. “Cookie Dough” is the result of two friends working together with no boundaries, finding new routes into making soul, hip-hop, R’n’B and breaks.

In the last five years Mills has lived in Stockholm, penetrating Sweden’s music and art scene including hooking up with Freddie Cruger, a native of the Swedish capital.


01. Song With No Ending
02. Serious Drug
03. Jackson Miles
04. Skit
05. Flashy Flashy
06. Heroine
07. On The Road
08. Touchy Touchy
09. Piece Of Mind
10. Tuesday Is Friday
11. Come Closer
12. Something About Those Days
13. Autocoon
14. At The Same Time

The album WildcookieCookie Dough” (Tru Thoughts) is going to be released February 18, 2011.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung