Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
Noya Rao
Nov 16, 2017
Feeling Nice Vol.4
Oct 30, 2017
Prinz Pi
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Sep 30 2010 | 13:51 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Seu Jorge has always put artistic freedom first. His extraordinary story spans theatre projects in Rio’s favelas, movie acting (as Knockout Ned in Fernando Meirelles’ City Of God, and with Bill Murray in Wes Anderson’s The Life Aquatic) and of course, becoming one of Brazil’s best known singers. The man happens to have samba’s most soulful voice. But as he proved with his celebrated album of David Bowie covers – the soundtrack to The Life Aquatic – he can pour that rich baritone into all kinds of music and utterly own it.

This brand new project is steeped in that smoky, soul-piercing voice, but it’s also about a band: Almaz. The other three members are hugely respected artists in their own right: Pupillo, one of the most sought-after drummers in Brazil, and Lucio Maia, voted seven times the best guitarist in the country, are both members of the legendary Nação Zumbi. And on bass, the award-winning film score composer Antonio Pinto (Central Station, City Of God). They first met up to record a song for the Walter Salles film Linha de Passe and got such a buzz out of the chemistry in the studio they decided to record an entire album together.

That spontaneous, relaxed vibe flows throughout the record, and it also lives in the repertoire – each musician freely choosing songs which inspire them. “The only leader here is the music” says Jorge. The tracklist lays out twelve new versions of songs by twelve different songwriters, songs they love from Brazil, America and Europe. From Jorge Ben and Michael Jackson to Kraftwerk, Tim Maia and Roy Ayers, mixing samba, soul and rock, hits and obscurities, like spinning the dial on a dream radio.

“This project is a place for liberation” explains Antonio, and that freedom is something you feel at the heart of their spacey, psychedelic sound. As Lucio points out, there’s a great tradition of fabulous collaborations in Brazil, and it’s clear this is a band everyone deeply enjoys being part of. Pupillo: “Apart from being beautiful, the words of the song “Errare Humanum Est,” or ‘to err is human’, say everything about Almaz in the sense that taking risks is perfect, it’s good to have the freedom to play and create without being afraid to make a mistake.”

They may have been supremely relaxed but Seu Jorge and Almaz nail it every time. Tune in to their sublime version of “Everybody Loves The Sunshine,” rock out to their psych-samba “Pai João” and groove to a very laid-back “Rock With You”. With production by Mario C. (Beastie Boys, Jack Johnson), Seu Jorge and Almaz have made a record which has cinematic scale – an expansive free-flowing soundtrack to the movie in their minds.


01. Errare Humanum
02. Das Model
03. Cristina
04. Saudosa Bahia
05. Cirandar
06. Tempo De Amor
07. Everybody Loves The Sunshine
08. Pai Joao
09. Rock With You
10. Cala Boca, Menino
11. Girl You Move Me
12. Juizo Final
13. Tudo Cabe (EU Bonus Track)

The album Seu Jorge And AlmazSeu Jorge And Almaz (EU Version)” (Now Again) has been released September 24, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung