Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , , ,

Recent posts

Detroit Swindle
Nov 20, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Friday, Aug 06 2010 | 15:29 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

This compilation tells the tale of exclusivity, fashion, being in-the-know, of dub plate culture which lived at the heart of a vibrant scene that saw reggae music develop a new musical genre; that of the remix. In fact Lee Perry was probably one of the most creative producers to have worked in this genre in the 1970s. His exclusive mixes, which were often made for sound systems, are at the heart of what this album is about.
A dub plate gave a sound system an exclusive piece of music, although reggae music has always had a fluid concept of what ‘exclusive’ means, and another reason why their supporters followed them. Sounds had the same passionate following that football clubs had; indeed many fans had the same local loyalty. Sounds had a whole crew to build, move and play the equipment and music: social life was built around where the sound was playing: it was about looking good and checking out the opposite sex. Sounds were about cultural identity, a good time and maybe romance.

In the 1970’s sound system culture one man’s productions could be heard in exclusive mixes. That man was Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry who, more than any producer or performer of the time, used dub plates for one-off projects and mixes: his ‘specials’ are the thing of legend. To add to the quality of the package there are exclusive photographs taken by Dennis Morris. Some of these photographs have not been seen before. This will be an essential release for anyone with an intrest in dub, Lee Perry and Reggae music in general. It is one of the last great Lee Perry Dub albums.


01. Dread Dub Plate – Lee Perry
02. Lama Lava Mix One – Augustus Pablo & The Upsetters
03. Groove Dubber – The Upsetters
04. Groove Rider – The Upsetters
05. Jucky Skank – The Upsetters
06. Chim Cherie – The Upsetters
07. The Rightful Organiser – Lee Perry & The Upsetters
08. Stagger – Lee Perry & The Upsetters
09. Big Neck Cut – Lee Perry & The Upsetters
10. Zeal Of The Lord – The Upsetters
11. Dub Of The Lord – The Upsetters
12. Returning Wax – The Upsetters
13. Bushdub Corntrash – Winston Wright & The Upsetters
14. From Dub Four – Clive Hylton & The Upsetters
15. Roots Train Number Two – Junior Murvin & The Upsetters
16. Locks In The Dublight – Lee Perry & The Upsetters
17. Moonlight Version – The Upsetters
18. Dub History – Carlton Jackson & The Upsetters
19. Living Dub – Keith Rowe  & The Upsetters

The compilation Lee Perry And The UpsettersSound System Scratch” (Pressure Sounds) is going to be released August 27, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung