Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Darius Syrossian
Jan 08, 2018
Dec 31, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Tuesday, Jul 27 2010 | 18:16 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Having emerged from five decades of Soviet occupation – which required all music to be funneled through a government-managed label and every singer’s repertoire to be stocked with patriotic songs – over the past 20 years, the big cities of what was formerly the Bloc have been a ripe breeding ground for experimental music. And Vilnius has embraced the change, full force.

Yeah, there’s a monument to Frank Zappa downtown and hard rock fests like Rock Marsas, but there’s no scene as strong here than electronica – which seems like the only thing that can really liven up the big, empty spaces of Soviet architecture. Groups like One Ear Stereo, RyRalio and Metal on Metal have come out of Lithuania and it seems their inheritors, the next electro whizz kids emerging, are The Sneekers. A DJ and production duo consisting of Karolis Labanauskas and Evaldas Mikalauskas, the Sneekers abstain from collaging samples and instead work from scratch to craft funky techno that’s rife with those euphoric, plane-taking-off crescendoes that really get a party going. If you miss electro that uses auto, computerized vocal choruses and wonky, fake turntable screeches, you’re about to be very happy.

The groups big break came when the track “POP (You Got It)” found its way from MySpace to rotation at BBC Radio1, and they’ve kept the buzz going with a slew of remixes. But they’re also constantly producing their own tunes. Their latest EP on Television Rocks is called “Aerobic EP” (TELEROCK016 / release date: 02.07.2010).

The Sneekers Summer Bangers 2010:

01. The Sneekers – Teletronik (Television Rocks Rec.)
02. Boys Noize – Kontact Me (Jan Driver Remix) (Boysnoize Records)
03. Gaspard Auge, Mr.Oizo – Rubber (Ed Banger Records/Because Music)
04. Zero Cash – Tiltshift (Television Rocks Rec.)
05. Felix Cartal – Racer (Dim Mak)
06. Aout6 – Don’t Care (The Sneekers Remix) (Nu Style Records)
07. Etienne De Crecy – Hope (Djedjotronic Remix) (Pixadelic)
08. Light Year – Motor Booty (Hey Today! Remix) (Bang Gang)
09. Bird Peterson – The New Sexy National Anthem (Teenage Riot Records)
10. Carte Blanche – In The Mix (Ed Banger Records/Because Music)

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung