Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Detroit Swindle
Nov 20, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
Martha High
Nov 20, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jul 22 2010 | 17:42 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

West End Records was co-founded by Mel Cheren and Ed Kushins in 1976, a label that defined the sound of New York City in the heyday of disco. That sound eventually filtered to dance floors and clubs across the country and around the world. West End Records is known as one of the most prominent labels in dance music’s history along with Prelude, SalSoul and Casablanca, releasing hits like Taana Gardner’s “Heartbeat” and Loose Joints’ “Is It All Over My Face”, and in doing so creating a frenzy on dance floors. These titles, along with many others in the West End Records catalog, went on to become some of the most sampled songs in music history. At the helm of it all was Mel Cheren, affectionately known as “The Godfather of Disco” for his championing of DJ’s, dance music and club culture from the early days of the Disco Movement.

Mel began his five decade career in the music business at ABC/Paramount, before moving to Scepter Records. During his tenure at Scepter he was responsible for many innovations such as the first 12 inch record for DJ’s and the first instrumental mix on the B-side, earning Scepter the “Trendsetter of the Year” Award from Billboard in 1974. With a former Scepter colleague he formed his own company, West End Records in 1976. In 2005, Mel was inducted into the Dance Music Hall of Fame with their Lifetime Achievement Award. For all of his accomplishments in the music industry, Mel was most proud of his work in support of various causes and charities and in particular his efforts in support of the LGBT Community and the fight against AIDS. It is a sad irony that he is a fatality of the same health crisis that he fought so long to eradicate.

West End Records is honored and proud to present “Keep On Dancin’: A Tribute to the Godfather Of Disco Mel Cheren”, a 2 disc collection of some of Mel’s favourite West End classics. Each song was brilliantly hand picked, recalling specific songs from the catalog, both popular and obscure, that Mel loved and often mentioned. This tribute also includes exclusive bonus material, such as the rare original demo of the only song Mel ever co-wrote, entitled “Save a Place on the Dance Floor for Me”. Mel especially chose dance and gospel music star Dawn Tallman to give life to his emotional song about dear friends that have passed away too soon.

Other incredible bonus tracks include Marty Thomas “Thank You (Power of Love)” (Ian Friday’s Tea Party Tribute Mix), Dawn Tallman “Save a Place on the Dance Floor for Me” (Glenn Thornton’s Slaag Tribute Mix) and Sounds of Inner City “Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman” (Adam Cruz Tribute Version).



01. West End Records – The Soundtrack (Intro)
02. Rod McKuen – Mel’s Song (Mon Amour, Mon Ami)
03. Sessomatto – Sesso Matto (Original Version)
04. Sounds Of Inner City – Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman (Adam Cruz Tribute Version)
05. Loose Joints – Telly You (Today)
06. Loose Joints – It’s All Over My Face? (Larry Levan Mix)
07. Sparque – Let’s Go Dancin’
08. Stone – Girl I Like The Way That You Move
09. Raw Silk – Do It To The Music
10. Barbara Mason – Another Man
11. Brenda Taylor – You Can’t Have Your Cake And Eat It Too


01. Ednah Holt – Serious, Sirius Space Party
02. Taana Gardner – Heartbeat (Larry Levan Mix)
03. Taana Gardner – When You Touch Me (Larry Levan Mix)
04. Master Boogie’s Song And Dance – When The Shit Hits The Fan
05. Bettye Lavette – Doin’ The Best That I Can
06. Billy Nichols – Give Your Body Up To The Music (Larry Levan Mix)
07. Carl Bean – Born This Way (Original Mix)
08. Dawn Tallman – Save A Place On The Dance Floor For Me (Original Version)
09. Marty Thomas – Thank You (Power Of Love) (Ian Friday’s Tea Party Tribute M
10. Dawn Tallman – Save A Place On The Dance Floor For Me (Glenn Thornton’s Slaag Tribute)

The compilation VariousKeep On Dancin’” (West End) is going to be released August 6, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung