Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: ,

Recent posts

Machine Woman
Jan 15, 2018
Jan 15, 2018
Andy Cooper
Jan 15, 2018
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Jul 08 2010 | 15:08 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

The second in Numero’s series of peeks into the world of regional studios hones in on Mickey Rouse’s Lowland operation out of Beaumont, Texas.

Long after the Bopper’s plane crashed and the Winter brothers (Johnny and Edgar) and Janis Joplin split, Texas’ Golden Triangle was home to a vibrant scene of musicians, songwriters, and entrepreneurs just trying to make it in Houston, let alone the world.

From the ashes of a vibrant garage and stage band scene, the Lowland studio and its clientele were formed. Holed up in a rundown strip mall, groups like Mourning Sun, Insight Out, Sage, Sassy, Mother Lion, Hope, Circus, and Boot Hill tracked out hundreds of demos, most of which were put on the shelf and left to bake in the South East Texas heat. Until now.

Over the last two years, Numero has painstakingly gone through every tape in the studio’s archives, selecting the best of the best (22 for the CD, 28 for the 2LP) for this peerless compilation. The songs themselves run the gamut: southern boogie rock, CSNY clones, British blues thunder, garage-psych hangovers, Morricone-esque supper club instrumentals, yacht rock, and what can only be described as Bobby McFerrin fronting the Velvet Underground, are threaded together in the way only a tightly-knit scene can be.

Forget bringing these treasures back to life, Numero’s giving them the life they never had.


01. Lowlands Studio Band – Trash One
02. Insight Out – Live My Life Today
03. Mother Lion – Simple House
04. Sassy – She’s My Daughter
05. Bobby Welch – Yellow River
06. Insight Out – It Makes You Feel So Bad
07. Linda Crow – I Still Remember
08. Circus – Different Feeling
09. Mourning Sun – Where’s Love Gone Today
10. Bill Swicegood – I’m The Fool
11. Sage – I Found My Music
12. Bobby Welch – Benashaw Glenn
13. Hope – Tomorrow
14. Sassy – Take A Look At Your Friends
15. Circus – Give Me Time
16. Boot Hill – No Control
17. D.O.A. – Lady Tell Me Why
18. Sage – Everyday Is Saturday
19. Hope – Dream Away
20. Mourning Sun – Let’s Take A Walk In The Woods
21. Roy Briggs & Alton Tew – You Know I Love You
22. Donald Thomas – Black Night Is Calling Me Home

The compilation VariousLocal Customs: Lone Star Lowlands” (Numero Group) is going to be released July 16, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2018 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung