Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Monday, Jun 28 2010 | 18:50 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

Chaz Jankel, is probably best known as the keyboard player and guitarist with Ian Dury And The Blockheads. He co-wrote some of the band’s best-known hits, including “Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick”, “Sex And Drugs And Rock And Roll”, and “Reasons To Be Cheerful (Pt 3)”.

Chaz was responsible for much of the funk influences in the Blockheads music. As a solo artist, he recorded several albums for A&M including, “Chasanova” and “Questionnaire” which contained the U.S. dance hit, “Glad To Know You”. Chaz also penned the Quincy Jones’ international hit “Ai No Corrida”, and contributed “Do You Mind” to Robbie Williams latest album “Reality Killed The Video Star”. Chaz also wrote the score for the motion picture “Sex And Drugs And Rock And Roll” which has been nominated for a BAFTA.

“The Submarine Has Surfaced” in Chaz’s words: “Over the last couple of years I’ve been writing and sketching out ideas in my studio in Muswell Hill, North London. Although many ideas occur and are recorded, very few are what I would describe as “special”, but the 10 songs on this album I think are all unique. On this CD I collaborate with 4 other singer/writers. On “I Come Alive” I worked with Natalia Scott (aka MC Tali). We met at a Chris Difford songwriting retreat and this was one of our first compositions. On “Hey Now” I’m doing the vocals and Derek Hussey co wrote the lyrics. “The Farside” and “Check the Meaning” are sung by Steven Tart, a very gifted young singer whose star is on the ascendant. “A Restless Path”, “Wise Up Baby” and “I Long For You” are all sung by Alex Watson, another great interpreter of lyric and melody. We met when I was signed to Famous Music. That leaves “Tear It Up” sung/spoken/wrapped by Derek Hussey who now sings lead vocals with the Blockheads. Oh yeah, the last tune on the album, “The Way its Going Down” was co-written with Derek Hussey and I’m doing the singing. Just a simple acoustic song (but with a fancy guitar tuning) to cleanse the palette … the same way slices of orange taste perfect after a spicy Chinese meal … eh voila … dinner is served … “The Submarine Has Surfaced” … thanks for listening.”


01. Wherever We Go
02. I Come Alive
03. Hey Now
04. The Farside
05. A Restless Path
06. Tear It Up
07. Wise Up Baby
08. Check The Meaning
09. I Long For You
10. The Way It’s Going Down

The album Chaz JankelThe Submarine Has Surfaced” (CJ Records) is going to be released July 9, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung