Please install a newer Version of Adobe™ Flash™-Player to listen to soundclips


Tagged with: , ,

Recent posts

Dec 12, 2017
Audio88 & Yassin
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
See all entries

Search the magazine

Subscribe to our feed

Groove Attack magazine (RSS)
Thursday, Apr 22 2010 | 16:23 Buy this now at GoodToGo (B2B)

It’s not often that a sample clearance claim against a record company turns out to be an altogether pleasant experience. Usually it’s a blustery, puffy-chested affair with lawyers on both sides citing arcane copyright cases and threatening court proceedings as if the year were 1987 and Biz Markie had just released his first album on Cold Chillin’.

We’ve been fortunate enough to never have to deal with any of that, as our attorney is the kind of woman who teaches copyright legends about the outcome of the most recent Koons case and its application to sampling before they even know about it. As a result, we have gained access into the superb Raymond Scott catalog through our association with Basta Audio Visuals and Scott’s musical steward Irwin Chusid. And, more recently, we inked a deal with singer, songwriter, pianist and man-in-the-know Matthew Larkin Cassell.

Matthew Larkin Cassell hit us up after he heard his “Heaven,” from his superb (and superbly rare) album “Pieces” on the Madlib production “3.214” from “Madvillainy 2: The Madlib Remix”. At first Madlib had no idea he was using
Matthew Larkin Cassell’s work until he put two and two together and realized that his source material, a Japanese bootleg 12″ labled “MLC” stood for, well, you guessed it.

Who wouldn’t want access to the multi-tracks to Matthew Larkin Cassell’s break-beat laded “My Life”? Madlib certainly did. And Matthew Larkin Cassell wanted to see his entire catalog (comprised of the “Pieces” album, an EP entitled “Matt The Cat”, a 7″ single and a recent vinyl EP) issued on CD and distributed digitally. So, I flew to the Bay Area, hung out with the man and committed his story to tape. Even though our lawyer has been amazing with our other sample claims, Matthew and I decided early on to keep this conversation among friends so we got down to negotiations. Five months later, here we are. We’re officially announcing the soon-to-be-released Matthew Larkin Cassell “The Complete Works” and hinting that we might do something special with those multis. With Matthew Larkin Cassell’s permission of course.

Egon, May 12, 2009


01. Rendezvous
02. Heaven
03. Ecoutez Moi
04. You
05. Beggin’ To Stay
06. Holiday
07. Another Day Gone
08. One Night
09. In My Life
10. More
11. Fly Away
12. Young Girl
13. Hold Me
14. All I’m Misssing Is You
15. Close To You Tonight
16. When I Go Down
17. Love To Love
18. The Meaning Of It All
19. Blind As Love Can Be
20. Suddenly

The collection Matthew Larkin CassellThe Complete Works” (Stones Throw) is going to be released May 14, 2010.

Need assistance?

+49 (0) 221 99075 0 phone
+49 (0) 221 99075 990 fax
Contact form

Aerzte ohne Grenzen 2018
Office hours
Mon–Thu 10h–18h GMT+1
Fri 10h–17h GMT+1

Copyright © 2017 Groove Attack GmbH, Mathias-Brüggen-Str. 85, D-50829 Cologne, Germany
Imprint / Impressum / Disclaimer · Privacy Policy / Datenschutzerklärung